On-screen keyboard alternatives

Discussion in 'HP Slate' started by johnmcd, Dec 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. johnmcd

johnmcd Scribbler - Standard Member

Hi all,

Like many of you I've been using tablets for a few years, and I've played with a lot of apps that might be useful for some of the newer users. One of the areas I have a lot of experience with is on-screen keyboards - the one in Windows 7 isn't too bad, but it's not great either. To that end I've compiled a list of alternative options for on-screen keyboards that I thought I'd share:

Free
    ====
    Click-N-Type virtual keyboard by Lake Software (Click-N-Type Virtual Keyboard by Lake Software) - Designed for people with disabilities; provides a number of very powerful features like complex macros.

InScribe by Ilium Software (Free text entry program for your UMPC - InScribe lets you take notes quickly and easily) - Provides Swype-like functionality - very fast.

UBoard by Nostram Studios (Company is defunct, but still available for download - On-screen Keyboard UBoard Still Rocks: Mobile ) - Translucent keyboard, originally designed for the Sony U-series.

SlideIT by Dasur (Dasur SlideIT - Mobile Text Input for Touchscreen devices) - Another one with Swype-like capabilities (available soon for Windows tablet)

Paid
    ====
    Comfort On-Screen Keyboard by Comfort Software ($10/$20 (lite/pro) - Comfort Software: Comfort On-Screen Keyboard for Windows) - Extremely flexible and configurable.

DialKeys Gen2 by DialKeys ($25, DialKeys Gen2: Overview of our Virtual On-Screen Keyboards designed for the UMPC, Tablet PC and other Touch Screen Devices running on Windows (XP or Vista)) - Wheel-shaped for thumb use.

Touch-It Virtual Keyboard by Chesware ($20, Touch-It Virtual Keyboard. Fully customizable on screen keyboard) - Extremely flexible and configurable.