new hard drive data transfer for ep121

Discussion in 'EP121 Slate' started by mfraga, Mar 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mfraga

    mfraga Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    what is the best and easiest way to transfer your original hd data to a new hd for ep121? I am wanting to keep all original programs.
     
  2. kneebuster

    kneebuster Long time tablet PC user

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    15
    You could
    1) Image the existing SSD to an external drive (HD or DVD), install the new drive, and then copy the image to the new HD
    2) you could get an external adapter such as this one for the SSD and image directly from the old one to the new one
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 18, 2015
  3. Pete in Hyder

    Pete in Hyder Z160 1984 $2800 33# My1st

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How do you copy the image onto the newly installed SSD when I presume you can't boot the computer yet since the new SSDI is still blank?
     
  4. AllenPapapetrou

    AllenPapapetrou Scribbler - Standard Member

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Use GParted Live on a bootable USB Stick to take a backup image of the original SSD, then copy it back to the new SSD. I got a 4port travel USB hub from Radio Shack to create a backup image because I neede to attach:
    1. Adesso Wireless USB KB/TP
    2. USB GParted stick
    3. USB WD Passport HD to hold the SSD backup image

    Allen
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 18, 2015
  5. pkirill

    pkirill Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    have you tried it ?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 18, 2015
  6. kneebuster

    kneebuster Long time tablet PC user

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    15
    It's on the way. I'll post up once I've tried it out.
     
  7. kneebuster

    kneebuster Long time tablet PC user

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Last edited by a moderator: May 18, 2015
  8. DoubleE

    DoubleE Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    How about just use system restore to create a system image on a USB drive...
    Then restore the image to the new drive. Your would just need to boot into recovery 1st... or worst case, install windows on the new drive, then use sytem recovery to restore the image.
     
  9. BenjaminRies

    BenjaminRies Scribbler - Standard Member

    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    we need it to work with the SanDisk, then... I've ordered it too, since the SSDMA adapter from didn't work.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 18, 2015
  10. CF77

    CF77 Love Tablet. Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    56
    just a question on Win7..Does Win 7 check tge drive size for activation? I know Vista does.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - hard drive data
  1. Steve S
    Replies:
    125
    Views:
    5,473
  2. T-ravisty
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,968
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page