Need some advice...

Discussion in 'Lenovo (IBM)' started by Youmeus, Mar 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Youmeus

Youmeus Pen Pal - Newbie

I really could use some help here. Due to disability related reasons I can type alot faster then I can write. I am currently in college studying electrical engineering. Being an EE student, I have to do diagrams and such, so I think a tablet pc will be my best option, but I've also heard of people using a regular laptop with a wacom tablet separately. Whatever I purchase needs to last me at least 3-4 years to get me through my program. I am getting monetary help from vocational rehab to help pay for the purchase, so I'd like to get the best out there if I can. I really like what people are saying about the x60t tablet. I'm kind of torn about tablets not having alot of graphics capability but I'm wondering if this will really matter. As a student, I really don't have time to play games anyways, and I already own an xbox 360 and a desktop pc, so it's I guess I kind of answered my own question there.. As an E.E will I never need to do 3d intensive computer work? Can I at least run something like mathmatica? I guess for those that did purchase an x60t, would you do it again? If I do go with an x60t tablet, what screen should I get. I feel like the higher resolution would be beneficial, but it sounds like the touch screen option would be useful, but I'm not really sure what for yet? I am going to talk to my liaison for VR services on Monday and I need to talk about what I am interested in. I don't want to sound hesitant on the x60t, as I think it's just what I need, but will it last me? and will I be disappointed if they come out with a core 2 duo version in a few months? Is the processor difference worth the wait? Since I am not going to be playing 3d intensive games will a core 2 duo matter in the long run? So many questions and I am hoping some of you guys had the same questions and could give some lo