Need help picking parts for custom art workstation desktop.

Discussion in 'Artists' started by michaelws, Nov 4, 2017.

1. michaelws

michaelws Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

Being that this is a tablet forum primarily I didn't know where to start a thread like this, asking for help in picking the right parts to have a company like NCIX build me a custom workstation. It was Stoneseeker that replied to one of my threads on a different part of this forum and suggested that members of this forum would be willing to offer me advice on this topic. So here is a brief summation of what I have done as an illustrator/artist and what I would like to get a workstation to be able to help me do.

I have been an illustrator all my life. Traditional. Pencil artist (comics NYC) pen and ink and multi-medium illustrator (Los Angeles) Pastels, Oils, etc. I have also worked in animation studios in LA on feature films...the old-fashioned way.

Lastly, I have been an oil painter for a single gallery here in Hawaii for the last 25 years. Now I can be retired if I want. I will always draw and paint...but now I do not have to do it for anyone else...I can create what I want. Still not sure what that will turn out to be.

I want to go digital. My favorite software right now is Corel Painter but I also own Photoshop, Art Rage, paint Storm, Clip Studio etc. So I don't want to say that I will remain with Corel forever. But I do want to have enough power in the computer to drive complex brushes on large canvases (24 X 36 inches and up) at high enough resolution to print quality canvas signed and numbered editions from it.

I also love Blender 3D and might even reinvest in 3dsMax or Maya if Blender doesn't do it for me. So I want to have the power to drive a decent rendering engine to create rendered frames from high poly-count meshes. I also use ZBrush and 3D Coat and Substance Designer and Painter.