Need for pen displays compatible with iOS and Android devices

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by siddhartth, Jul 15, 2019.

1. siddhartth

siddhartth Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

I am not an artist but a scholar and a writer. I am old school in the way that i need a handwriting instrument to do what I do. I purchased a Cintiq Pro 16 and thanks to it's really satisfying pen feel and inking, I spent a lot of hours doing productive work on it. I enjoyed the 16" real estate that it offered. But since it's not a portable instrument and needs a desk set up, I couldn't use it for working on the go. To work in other locations, i knew I needed a real tablet, the best Pen-abled tablets are those Which are made by Apple and Samsung. Apple iPads being more powerful. None of the available Windows tablets are as portable, powerful and have better screen to body ratio than the iPadPro. So, i bought myself an iPadPro 11.

The iPadPro is great for portability, and the Apps available in the App store allow me to do my work completely on it. But, when i am in home at my desk I prefer that i could bring my iOS experience to the 16 inch touch screen of my Wacom Cintiq pro 16. I am sure most users with a Samsung Note 8 or 9 also feel that way. But sadly Wacom Pen displays for now only have drivers for the Desktop operating systems like Windows, macs and linux. Why should anybody need to buy a Windows laptop or a Macbook, just to use his Cintiq display.

Now excellent, art and academic softwares are available on Android and iOS as Apps. The Mobile Processors are now powerful enough to complete with desktop class processors for most use cases. And also, now that invariably of everybody and his grandma owns a capable Android or iOS device, but not necessarily a computer, doesn't it make sense for Wacom to make their pen displays compatible with Android and iOS as well.