My tablet PC

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by Mynd Ara, Aug 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mynd Ara

Mynd Ara Deus Ex Macchus

sup. ok, I've been looking around at tablet pc's for a while now, and i really can't decide on what exactly i want/need. One reason for this is i rarely have a chance to have a tablet pc here in my hand that i can actually play with and see if i like it. Circuit city and the like are stocked up on gateways and toshiba's (r25s, nothing more, nothing less), and even then, you can't twist the screen and see how it feels in tablet mode, or hold one in your hand to get a feel for the weight. SO now i'm relying on reviews and opinions to determine if i would be interested or not...

If you're still reading, here's my situation, maybe you guys can help me pick my ideal device.

-I'm an incoming engineering student, so MATLAB or other number heavy programs might be in my agenda, though i honestly doubt it

-I wanna do light gaming, mostly SNES roms

-I'm gonna be a ROTC cadet, and would kinda like to be able to have enough screen real estate to do power points for briefings and presentations

-Heavy Internet user, and would like to download a reasonably sized library of music (i got a good cd collection)

-Lastly I would probably need for the tablet pc to be a laptop first, and tablet second.

-Screen size may be an issue, if need be, I'd settle for a 12.1, but a 14 might do the trick. Asus is talking about a 13.3, i wonder if that's the perfect compromise between portability and screen real-estate?

any suggestions? To dumb it all up, I'm a computer engineering student who needs to take notes, and an ROTC cadet who needs to make good presentations. Oh not to mention tablet function's great for studying from what i've heard. Any suggestions

2. Barry J. Doyle

Barry J. Doyle Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member