MSI Windpad 110w

Discussion in 'Other Brands' started by excalibur1814, Jun 20, 2011.

  1. pox67

    pox67 Scribbler - Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    Australia
    I had a bunch of trouble with Win8.

    I turned off UAC, disabled Windows Defender. Make sure you are starting with a fresh hard drive - new partitions.

    Don't do the AMD update from Windows Update. I turned off Windows Update until I had all the drivers installed on the Windpad and it all sorted out.
    I also backed up the SSD using Acronis in case it locked me out again. Then I could just start from the backup rather than re-installing.
    Funnily enough after I had a backup it behaved itself and is now working just fine. Go figure ;)

    Good luck!
     
  2. WPDownUnder

    WPDownUnder Pen Pal - Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    thanks...will see how I go. It must be the SSD.
     
  3. Steves110W

    Steves110W Pen Pal - Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hi
    Bluetooth issue was solved by reinstalling win 7 and setting up BT and then upgrading to win 8 rather than a fresh install. It kept all the drivers and was fine.

    The antenna slots under the battery not on top. By removing the sticky off them they fit flat onto the metal plate under the battery and did not affect the battery fitting or the case. You then just see the top quarter exposed. It may be that the plate amplifies the signal hence their location.
     
  4. osk666

    osk666 Pen Pal - Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Excuse me, is it that really nobody know which wireless adapter can match 110w?
    I really need to upgrade it!
     
  5. pox67

    pox67 Scribbler - Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    Australia
    It looks like it. Anyone else with an Intel 310 have trouble installing Win8?
    I can't see how it would cause this problem though.


    Cool, thanks Steves110W. I'll give that a try.
    Any tips for removing the battery?
    Last time I tried I took out all the screws but it seemed to be stuck down still.

    Not sure osk666.
    I haven't checked what connector the current Atheros Bluetooth/WiFi is using. Next time I open up I'll take a look.
     
  6. WPDownUnder

    WPDownUnder Pen Pal - Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Disabling Windows Defender and turning off UAC - ANY driver I try to install hangs and kills windows 8 :(

    Might have to put the stock Sandisk SSD back. Had no issues with that.
     
  7. pox67

    pox67 Scribbler - Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    30
    Location:
    Australia
    So does it lock up within Windows 8?
    My problem was that I could install whatever I wanted and do any updates but when I went to restart Win 8 would just hang at the Fish with the little dots going round and round.

    What is the option on returning the SSD?

    Have you run Memtest to check the new RAM stick is ok?
    That could be causing errors within Win8.
     
  8. Freshy

    Freshy Pen Pal - Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Mine came stock with 4GB, but I "upgraded" to the Intel 310 80GB SSD, and I also am having the same issue with Windows 8. I don't even have to install anything. If I let the tablet sit for a few minutes (10 to 15) and then reboot, I get stuck at the fish screen.

    Bummer.
     
  9. WPDownUnder

    WPDownUnder Pen Pal - Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Not Good. I tried MemTest - but gave up at about 10% after it had taken 30m or so and was heating the tab up a lot. No errors reported.

    At this stage, I installed Win8 and split the HDD into 2 smaller (half size) partitions. Installed the AMD video update fine, have yet to turn off UAC or Updates.

    Will put Acronis on and take an image - and then see how I go from there.

    Edit:

    - Installed Acronis, made a drive backup.
    - Tried to run windows update...downloaded updates, Win8 hung at install updates (as usual) <sigh>
    - Updates hung/killed Win8 again :/

    Going to try and install clean Win7 Ultimate 64bit - get drivers updated (see if any SSD issues) then do Win8 as an update.
     
  10. Menrad

    Menrad Pen Pal - Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hello there,

    Does anyone knows if the windpad has dual band wifi ? I would like to pair it with my 5ghz wireless lan.

    Thanks.
     
Similar Threads: Windpad 110w
Forum Title Date
Other Brands Android and Windpad 110W Apr 2, 2012
Other Brands MSI 110W: solution for SD card crash Feb 26, 2012
Other Brands MSI 110W: cannot use "Power saver" mode Feb 25, 2012

Share This Page