MPP tricks and optimization?

Discussion in 'The Tablet PC Life' started by chucklepunch, Oct 19, 2021.

1. chucklepunch

chucklepunch Pen Pal - Newbie

Heeeyyya

The question: Aside from resyncing the bluetooth connection and driver downloads... are there any other ways to address MPP stylus performance? Within windows or with additional software, as this is a Surface Pen on a non-Surface laptop.

Details: I've been using EMR and AES devices for about 20 years now. Typically Lenovo, which have always been super reliable from a stylus performance perspective. However, Asus launched the new X13 Flow with a RTX 3050ti + Ryzen 9 5900HS- which finally brings together all of my needs as a concept artist and packages them in one small form factor device.

It is a 2-in-1 convertible, but it is not Wacom powered. It uses standard MPP connectivity. I picked up a Surface Pen (1776) and it kinda works in Clip Studio... but it's unusably bad in Photoshop. I'm 100% new to this MPP stuff and I have no idea how to try and tweak functionality. I've been googling around for a couple days but haven't made much progress. The main issue is (of course) terrible line jitters but also the pressure curve behaves nonsensically. Like it'll initiate at 50% pressure then dip to a typical 0% to 100% curve.

Thanks!

2. crazycat

crazycat Scribbler - Standard Member

Did you try using Lazy Nezumi on photoshop? CSP have great stabilization out of the box, photoshop not too much. I'm not sure what you could do with MPP though, their performance different depending on how dense the touch screen the manufacturer used. You could be out of luck if Asus cheap out on the touchscreen.

Did Asus recommend any pen for this laptop? ( if they advertise this as Penabled, they should at least have a compatible pen in their store)

3. thatcomicsguy

thatcomicsguy Pen Pro - Senior Member Senior Member

I had a look around and found this...