MOTION LE1600 HDD extreme upgrade!!!

Discussion in 'Motion Computing' started by stan329, Aug 30, 2010.

1. stan329

stan329 Pen Pal - Newbie

Hi Guys,
    This is my first time posting, cause I'm sure I just did something amazing with my LE1600.

I got my LE1600 last June for $400, shipping to Singapore(where I am)cost another $60.

It's amazing, for the pen response and the feel of actual writing really worth the price (online MSRP for new one is just too stupid...)

It came with 30G toshiba 3600RPM HDD, 512MB onboard ram and an integrated Graphic, and it does not have winxp tablet recovery disk.(headache)

I upgraded ram to 2G, disabling the onboard 512MB.

The files are jamming the disk and I can not do anything about it.

I have to upgrade the HDD.

However I found the HDD cable in my set is IDE to CF, the only CF interface toshiba, 1.8in is MK6006GAH, 2MB buffer(same), 4200RPM(faster), with size of 60G(doubled).

If I took this option, I might face another upgrade real soon.

My original Motion IDE-CF cable.

[​IMG][/URL] Uploaded with ImageShack.us[/IMG]

I had to get an IDE-ZIF cable , then I found this

Now I have to settle for a choice of HDD. original 30G is 5mm thick, but the above mentioned MK6006GAH is 8mm and it's still OK.

I guess can not exceed 8mm thickness.

I happened to know an awesome dude whose offering SATA to IDE converted of 3mm thickness, the connection will be like this

so here the IDE-ZIF is going through an IDE-SATA converter stick to the back of the HDD, so I can go for any SATA 1.8 drive.

I chose samsung drive

I would have my buffer from 2M to 16M and HDD size from 30G to 120G, 3600RPM to 4200RPM, all I need is to get it work.

the SS drive is 5mm thick and I need to confirm the combo thickness is below 8mm

8mm, just nice.

the SS SATA-ZIF drive is slightly shorter than the Toshiba CF, left a bit space in the rubber holder but it's OK.

cover it up, ready to run!!!

BIOS deteced