Microsoft Office on Chromebooks for realz now

Discussion in 'Software' started by violajack, Nov 28, 2017.

1. violajack

violajack Scribbler - Standard Member

https://chromeunboxed.com/news/microsoft-office-lands-on-chromebooks-everywhere/

I've been using my Samsung Chromebook plus in developer mode to have One Note sideloaded for sometime now, but all the office apps are finally back officially. This is a great machine if Android apps are sufficient for your needs. One Note with the (siloed!) EMR pen is smooth and accurate and it's really nice with the Staedtler Noris pen. I'm not an artist, so I can't speak to the quality or performance of Android drawing apps though.

This also means the Chromebook pixel should be a pretty killer machine. It's slightly lighter and thinner than the Samsung plus and the build quality and feel are amazing. Sadly, the demo machine at BB wasn't running full apps, just stupid demo screens, so I couldn't even test the pen in Keep, but it's Wacom AES and should be nice enough.

Again, this is all with the caveat that Android apps or chrome web apps have to be enough to meet your needs.

Kumabjorn likes this.
  2. lovelaptops

lovelaptops My friends call me Jeff Senior Member

I can confirm that this does indeed function! I got a wild hair and went and bought (for trial, of course, Dale!) a Chromebook Pro (convertible with Wacom EMR S-pen) on BF for $400 and have really been enjoying it. The lack of support for MSN Office was looking like the deal killer and then, voila! - 3 days into ownership of this new toy I read the post in your link, downloaded the apps (previously Google Play Store had said "not compatible with your device" [because the screen is larger than 10"]) and they work - pretty much. In a few days of owning this thing I've learned, regarding Chrome OS"

1) If you don't like something, wait, possibly only a day or two, and it will be fixed/added, etc