Lenovo Yoga 520/Flex 5 for 2D animation?

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by Dellaclearing, Jul 15, 2017.

1. Dellaclearing

Dellaclearing Pen Pal - Newbie

Hello, I'd really appreciate some help and advice with buying a new tablet from all you experts please!!

Up until recently I owned a Core i5, 128 SSD, 4gb Ram Surface Pro 3 until it died on me completely out of the blue without any warning! Just went to sleep and refused to ever wake up! Out of warranty Microsoft wanted nearly £500 to replace, and although I loved it, that was too expensive for an old device.

I'm an Animator/Illustrator, my main applications are Adobe Flash/Animate cc, Illustrator, Photoshop, After Effects and Premiere. I also use Construct 2 to design mobile games and have been thinking of moving into Unity recently. All of these programs ran fine on my SP3.

1. What is your budget?
    £7-800

2. Would you consider purchasing used/refurbished?
    No, would rather buy new, preferably with long warranty!

3. Do you prefer a media/mobile tablet like the iPad, Windows tablet PC, or notebook convertible?
    Windows nootebook.

4. What size Tablet PC would you prefer?
    • 12 to 14-inches
    5. Which country do you intent to purchase from [where do you live]?
    England, UK

6. Do you have any preferences to brand loyalty or dislikes?
    Avoiding Surface line after my SP3 died unexpectedly!

7. How many hours battery life do you require?
    6-8 hours, but the longer the better.

8. What will be the primary usage scenario of this tablet?
    Drawing, illustrating, animation, web surfing, entertainment

9. Do you have an OS preference?
    Windows only.

10. What software and tasks do you intend to run?
    Adobe Animate cc, Illustrator, Photoshop, After Effects, Premiere, Scirra Construct 2.
    Maybe I'll start learning Cinema 4D and Unity soon.

11. Do you intend on playing Games?