Learn to Draw with a Tablet

Discussion in 'The Tablet PC Life' started by olevelo, Jan 10, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. olevelo

olevelo Pen Pal - Newbie

Are there any good programs or at least tutorials for learning art using a pen-enabled tablet?

I recently bought a Thinkpad Yoga 14 (460 with pen), and would like to use it for artwork...except I'm not much of an artist yet! I have dabbled in traditional stuff previously, worked through Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain, but never proceeded very far. I think I could make a lot of headway digitally, where I can work on color and such much more easily. But I need some help really getting started.

I have extensive experience with Photoshop (not drawing from scratch obviously), and a bit with Illustrator. I'm willing to use Sketchbook or something else if that would be more appropriate. I think what I'm imagining is something that starts off with an example layer that you "draw over" to learn the basics, building in difficulty and complexity.

I really want to take advantage of the awesome power of my Thinkpad, so I appreciate any advice you have!

2. czm2000

czm2000 Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

YouTube. Lots of drawing tutorials on just about any drawing program you can imagine, including Photoshop. With regards to drawing programs, that comes down to user preference. I own most of them, but have my favorites. The best thing I'd say to do is give the trial versions a go, and the ones that tickle your fancy, look up on YouTube for proper use tutorials. Best wishes.

3. olevelo

olevelo Pen Pal - Newbie

Thanks. Any specific suggestions on tutorials? I can search but it's hard to find specific ones toward using a pen-tablet for learning from scratch (versus an experienced artist translating what they know into using a pen). Also hard to filter out the crap!

4. Shogmaster

Shogmaster Pen Pro - Senior Member Senior Member