LE1700 Artist's Review

Discussion in 'Motion Computing' started by marcospopart, Aug 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. salaryman

salaryman Pen Pal - Newbie

I thought I'd post a review from an artist's point of view, I think the more artists that purchase, the more the manufacturers will take note! I'm a concept and character artist for Black Rock Studio, part of the Disney Interactive group.

I've been totally digital in my output for just over a year now. Everything I do is generated via my Wacom tablet, sketching, inking and painting. There was always a slight disconnection in this process, and I had this Groundhog Day thing going where each morning I had to loosen up and re-train my hand and eye to work together with the tablet on the desk and the monitor in the air. I wanted to re-gain the tactile quality of drawing again, but without loosing the freedom and style I achieve from digital work.

A Cintiq would be the obvious answer, but it's a 20lb monitor essentially fixed to a desk. The only other solution would be a slate style tablet, essentially a digital sketchbook.

I'd spent a long time deciding on which tablet to go for, finally settling on either the Stylistic 5112 or the Motion LE1700, my past experience with Fujitsu and the LE1700's 1400x1050 display made it an easy choice....

The good people at Box Technologies here in the UK were very generous and loaned me a kit for a couple of weeks. Slates and tablets are rare commodities here in the UK and this was an unexpected but fantastic opportunity, so I'm indebted to Paul and Aurelie for their support here.

I wont be giving much of a technical breakdown here as I didn't even check out all the mobile solutions and connectivity options the LE1700 had to offer (but our MIS guy did install Photoshop remotely over the wireless network which worked pretty well), I just wanted to see if I could draw on it!