Law School Student - which tablet is for me?

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by Jurisprudence, Jun 26, 2007.

1. JNL

JNL Pen Pal - Newbie

Quick info -- I am an entering law student. I currently have a Vaio T, and love the speed and weight; however, I'd like to switch to a tablet for the first time. I anticipate scanning all of my textbooks to PDFs, so I'd like the option to annotate, highlight, and add text to my scanned texts. With that in mind, I will require a computer for mostly typed notetaking, with the tablet part used for graphs, charts, illustrations as well as reading and highlighting texts.
    (quick Q - I also have a powerful desktop at home. Should I scan my texts to pdf format on the desktop and simply fwd to laptop?)

General Questions.

1. What is your budget? Will pay top $ for the best comp..

2. Do you prefer a Slate, Convertible or Ultra Mobile PC (UMPC)? Convertible or UMPC

3. What size Tablet PC would you prefer?
    Small and light ~ 5" to 8.9"
    Compact ~ 10"
    Mainstream ~ 12.1"
    Large ~ 14"

4. Which country do you intent to purchase from? US

5. Do you have any preferences to brand loyalty or dislikes? No.

6. How many hours battery life do you require? Minimum of 4, but I am told each desk will have its own power hook-up. If the only negative to a tablet pc is its battery power, I don't mind buying a spare to get that comp.

7. What do you intend to use the Tablet for?

9. What software and tasks do you intend to run? Internet, Office, and progs editing and viewing pdfs

10. Do you intend playing heavy processor intensive Games? No games, but I frequently use multiple programs simultaneously. (Word, OneNote, Internet, etc.) The quicker the better..

Screen Specifics

1. Do you prefer standard or widescreen? Either's ok.

2. What resolution do you prefer?
    XGA - 1024x768 ~ Large and easy to read text and graphic icons but you fit less on the screen.