I've read many M4 threads, but here's another one...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by VT_Nerd, Jan 26, 2006.

1. VT_Nerd

VT_Nerd Pen Pal - Newbie

First off, let me say this site is amazing...lots of great information and speedy responses to questions.

Now, a little about my situation and my question. I'm a student at Virginia Tech and we're required to have laptops for engineering. Well, mine broke (it was a desktop replacment Sager NP5670 if anyone is wondering) last semester and since I hadn't actually needed a laptop for about 2 years, I figured I'd just get a desktop (cheaper, upgrade-able, GAMES, etc). As it turns out, I have to have a laptop again for this semester (smacks self in face) for one of my labs. I have to be able to run Labview 7 Student Edition, MATLAB 14.2, Autodesk Inventor 9, and Office 2003 for a bare minimum. I won't make anyone look up minimum requirements. But based on those, and personal choices I need 512MB RAM (hopefully user upgrade-able to 1GB), 1.7Ghz Pentium M, 802.11b/g, wired LAN, and an Open-GL card with at least 64MB of dedicated video memory (I prefer something NVIDIA, but I'd go with an integrated card if necessary). I'd like an optical drive/second battery, but it's not a necessity. One thing I'm still researching is whether or not any of those programs have any issues with XP Tablet Edition, which brings me to my first question.

If a program runs fine on Windows XP Pro SP2, does that mean it will work fine on XP Tablet Edition?

Second, I really like the TOSHIBA TECRA M4-S435. I read a bit about the M400 and that looks promising, but this lab starts in 3 weeks so I have no time to wait for a release. Will this be a good choice for what I've described? If not, what would I be better of with? I'd like to use it during class, and I read the review where it said 3 hours I think, but for those of you that have experience with it, will it really last that long?