Inputting Textbooks into my tablet . .

Discussion in 'The Tablet PC Life' started by leaftye, Oct 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. irhumbled

irhumbled Pen Pal - Newbie

Well with my convertible notebook on its way from gateway, I've been boning up on how to input my textbooks into my laptop. I've read about taking photos via a digital camera and then having software analyze them and turn them into editable and searchable text pdf files ready to annotated and the such. That seems like one route I might use. Is there any other? Actual flatbed scanners maybe? Or what about this thing I read about that is a portable scanner (I think it was called something like the docupen)? I'm just starting out college and I'm thinking I got four more years, and saving money by selling back textbooks or never buying them would let me save a lot of money so I'm willing to pay for right now would give me my textbooks in editable form on my laptop and wouldn't take very long to do each textbook. I want good quality I'm willing to pay for and spend the time for.

P.S. I might decide using a digital camera to be the best test. What level of MP should I have? I have a phone with 5 MP's, would that be sufficient? Or should I go higher? And what about dedicated cameras? I don't have one and wouldn't mind buying one . . . what does everyone suggest (and how much would they cost?). Thanks a lot guys, your help = invaluable.

2. leaftye

leaftye Old timer Super Moderator

I use a Plustek Omnibook 3600. If you buy your books a couple weeks before the semester you'll get a good price, then you can sell it to a desperate classmate when classes start.....and even for a good price to your classmate.

I can only scan 4-7 pages per minute. The only problem with a digital camera is that you need to keep everything perfectly still, which means some type of stand for the camera, and preferably a remote shutter trigger. I think the Omnibook is the best way to go.