I want it all...

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by NiceIdiot, Jan 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NiceIdiot

NiceIdiot Pen Pal - Newbie

I am an independent game designer and I am currently running on an Acer TravelMate C300. It has been great for me, with a few exceptions.

1. I had to replace the screen hinge.
    2. The video (although a standard on most Tablet PCs is not enough for my needs)
    3. Screen is only viewable indoors.

I am looking to upgrade and I want a system that has a video chipset that is able to support slightly better 3D than that that is standard in the TMc300 (The Intel 82852/82855). I would also like an indoor/outdoor display. Core 2 Duo or a fast Core Duo. I need a FireWire port, unless there is some way to do Firewire>>USB 2 nowadays. I don't need and Biometrics or Smartcard. I would like a larger screen if possible, since I do a lot of painting on this system. Higher Res screens are also great.

To recap, the most important things are:

• A good video chipset able to support basic 3D operations and the occasional game.
    • Core 2 Duo
    • Indoor/Outdoor Screen
    • Firewire
    • Larger/Higher Res Screen

I looked at the Toshiba/Lenovo/Asus and they are all missing at least one important item off the list. The Tecra M7 has a separate video card, but it does not appear to be 3D optimized. The Asus has no Firewire and the standard embedded Intel card. The Lenovo has the standard embedded Intel video card.

Any thoughts?

EDIT: Further investigation reveals that the Intel 950 Graphics processor may indeed be sufficient

2. Gautam

Gautam Moderator

I own the c310 as well - it does have firewire, BTW. It's a 4-pin one on the back.