I have a Cintiq 22HD, thinking of getting a cube i7, help?

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by Maria76, Aug 4, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Maria76

Maria76 Pen Pal - Newbie

Hello. I was wondering if someone could help me here. I am a hobbyist who likes to draw, illustration for children's book specifically. I have a cintiq 22 HD, though I admit I haven't been able to use it a lot lately due to basically having little time. I am the kind of girl that likes to sit on the sofa or in bed to draw, so my Cintiq doesn't really do that for me. I cannot afford a cintiq companion at the moment, and it does actually sound a bit heavy, plus lots of other problems which for the price sound demoralising. So I like the sound of the cube i7. I use linux, and use programs like gimp, krita, or mypaint (I think similar to artrage? ). I would not need to run heavy programs such as photoshop (or open software equivalents). I am happy with a simple drawing/sketching program and then to take my files to my desktop /cintiq if needed. I am aware the tablet has windows, I will let that be and most probably in the future install Debian on it, as I've seen someone do on an Cube But this isn't my issue at the moment (she says, most probably will be cursing windows after 5 minutes).

Anyway, my questions are. I have no idea how these type of devices feel. I don't like normal tablets, like an android tablet, to draw on. They obviously don't have wacom technology or sensitivity, and the Cube does. How will it feel for me? Will it feel similar to being on my cintiq if I use a simple drawing program? Will I be able to sketch similar to as if I was on paper/on the cintiq? I am really clueless, and I just can't get an idea from watching youtube videos, as the videos I see are more like inking. For my type of purpose, would the 2GB be enough, or should I go straight for a 4GB? Will my cintiq pencil work on it? Thank you for any info you can give me X