HP Elitepad 900

Discussion in 'Hewlett Packard' started by excalibur1814, Oct 1, 2012.

  1. dceggert

    dceggert Moving 'up' from iPAQ Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,834
    Likes Received:
    371
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    I am not sure if this has been posted yet or not. The front page (first post) maybe should be updated with this link:

    HP ElitePad | Business Tablet With Windows 8 | HP® Official Site | HP

    Edit: Okay, here is an interesting twist. If you follow the link and change to the "Features" page, then scroll down to the section entitled "Forward-thinking, backward-compatible" there is a picture of the screen showing the backward compatibility. Call me wrong, but that is Windows 7 with a 'Start' button! Wooo haaaa! Okay, I am happy now.... I hope this isn't just a sales anomaly.

    Depending on the performance of the off-brand active digitizer, I may have just found my next machine...that is as long as I can wrestle one out of HP without being a corporate buyer. Hopefully it will be in the sales page right next to the Slate 2. I am not a real fan of Win 8 yet, and I am surely not enamored with the 16:9 ratio.

    I guess I would need the expansion 'sleeves' to get the USB, HDMI, and SD card slots but we shall see how these end up for sale come January 2013.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2012
  2. dceggert

    dceggert Moving 'up' from iPAQ Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,834
    Likes Received:
    371
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2012
  3. e-schreiber

    e-schreiber ƒ(x) / fashion Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Good thing they decided to tell the world that Asus didn't do it first. Credit where credit is due. But they forgot to mention that they killed that remarkably smart design and kept it buried for a decade.... :rolleyes:

    Rick said recently it uses an Atmel digitizer.
     
  4. Bronsky

    Bronsky Wait and Hope. Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4,361
    Likes Received:
    830
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Location:
    South Jersey
    I love the corporate rewriting of history of the Ipaq. The Ipaq was now an HP product, even though it was designed and marketed by a competitor. Didn't HP design the Jornada which was a far less successful effort?
     
  5. dceggert

    dceggert Moving 'up' from iPAQ Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,834
    Likes Received:
    371
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    Yup, and I have been researching Atmel a bit. Sounds impressive; I see why they are making inroads to the market. If there is anything worse than no information it is misinformation; the author there needs to not call it Wacom when he does not know.

    Some Atmel stuff:
    Atmel Revolutionizes Touch User Experience - YouTube
    Atmel
    Atmel’s flexible touch sensors will revolutionize mobile device design | ExtremeTech

    The third one is very interesting. I am not sure about the video, however, it looks like there is a lag between pen movement and letter generation but the lines look fine. The lag may be due to Android. Time will tell before more 'real' information is known and Rick should be posting his line testing he said he would do.

    Yes, HP did not invent the iPaq, nor the TC1000 for that matter. Both were acquired technology from Compaq.

    HP did, however, invent the tiny little Jornada 700 or whatever nomenclature it was called. It was a tiny little Win CE laptop (palmtop) that was clearly way ahead of its time but still enjoys a huge cult following through today. It was like a tiny netbook a little larger than a smarphone.
     
  6. KLF

    KLF Scribbler - Standard Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Finland
    I did that but I'm not going to mess with excalibur1814's post much more since he is pretty active here and can do it himself when needed :)
     
  7. Bronsky

    Bronsky Wait and Hope. Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4,361
    Likes Received:
    830
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Location:
    South Jersey
    I had an IPaq, with an aftermarket leather case that also held an SD card for added storage. I loved the little device, but couldn't figure out what to do with it. Ultimately, I went back to a palm pilot, which, at the time, was issued by my firm for calendar control. Simple but effective. Funny how all of these early pioneers wound up in HP.
     
  8. bloodycape

    bloodycape Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    California
    I never had the early Compaq/HP iPaq as they were too pricey. I had the Audiovox, which was a Toshiba with less space, and cost half of what HP was selling their equivalent model at the time. It a SD and compact flash card slot. Boy, I miss having a full size SD on my touch screen devices(TPT excluded). Well I did have an HP Pocket PC(wasn't under the iPaq name), I go it a little before the time Palm released their first WM Phone, it was a cool media player. It would be cook to see HP get back to iPaq days where they were making very good and competitive products.
     
  9. KLF

    KLF Scribbler - Standard Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Finland
    I still have rx3715 (manufactured by HTC) somewhere in a box. It was such a good experience that I actually dared to buy couple HTC WinMo phones (worked for Nokia back then and decided never to get any symbian S60 devices).
     
  10. justinkw1

    justinkw1 Pen Pal - Newbie Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California (USA)
    For those of you interested, HP has published a video detailing how the ElitePad 900 was designed, from prototype to final product.

    Take a look here:

    [video=youtube;3DqD76_2IO0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3DqD76_2IO0[/video]
     
  11. dceggert

    dceggert Moving 'up' from iPAQ Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,834
    Likes Received:
    371
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    Thanks for posting the video. I think the design is pretty good and I give it a solid 'B.' Why not an 'A'? The 'full size' SD card should be on the device and not just left up to the sleeve or jacket. I keep all my work files on my SD card so I can move it from my TabletPC to my work laptop. It allows me to work anywhere. If I bought this I would also need to buy a jacket and I could not use it bare, even for a few minutes. Once out of its jacket I would not have access to my work files using my present system. So all the hard work of making it as sleek as possible was wasted for me since it would be in a jacket full time.

    Unfortunately for HP I would need to look at other alternate devices with the SD card slot. Unfortunate for me that 10.1" 16:10 devices are about as scarce as a blue moon! So, it is almost there...a solid 'B.'
     
  12. e-schreiber

    e-schreiber ƒ(x) / fashion Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    66
    HP did a decent job with this one. I think they will sell a good amount of these ElitePads. The serviceability is also a plus. If It just happens I'm too picky to ignore the lack of a silo. If it had a silo on the jacket, I would consider it. And I would also keep it in the "straight-jacket" at all times as it provides lots of ports.

    But as it is, Lenovo and Samsung got my attention. I wonder if HP is cooking an AMD tablet for Q1-2013....
     
  13. Steve B

    Steve B Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,744
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Location:
    Vallejo, CA
    I think the jackets are the real question-- how much functionality and variability will they provide. They clearly wanted to be able to have a tablet as thin and light as the iPad, and yet have the option of the thickness required for real functional work. If I could have a jacket with a silo -- which seems reasonable to me-- that would make a big difference.

    I also wonder how much the silos weigh, and how thick they make the devices. If they end up being 1/2" total, and around 2 lbs, that's not bad for a functional device, with full ports, a silo, and perhaps some sort of drop-proof protective armor. That's about what Motions cl900 series is-- .6" and 2.1 lbs. With silo, Atom, etc.
     
  14. revmike

    revmike Scribbler - Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    hanford,ca
    People are always crying abut the lack of a pen silo. We already have them, called pockets.
     
  15. Steve B

    Steve B Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,744
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Location:
    Vallejo, CA
    Well, if tablet pens cost as much as a bic, I wouldn't be complaining. But at 30-40$ a pop, it's nice to have a pen regularly available when working in the field. As it is, I carry a spare in my bag just in case. I once lost a pen on the jobsite, and was then unable to do any pen-based work the rest of the day. Of course, I'm dropping an extra 50$ basically, just to a backup pen lying around.

    So, no, I then the idea that a pen is a pen is a pen is wrong. A pressure sensitive pen for a digitizer is absolutely nothing like having a bic pen that you carry in a pocket. Is that where you currently carry your digitizer pen?
     
  16. e-schreiber

    e-schreiber ƒ(x) / fashion Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    66
    The Atmel pen they are using seems a bit too thick to fit in the jacket. They could have made a "bulge" in the jacket, but maybe that would be too noticeable. If they had gone with Wacom, they could have fit the pen easily in the jacket because Wacom Pens are thinner. However, a Wacom digitizer would have probably added an extra $100-200 to the ElitePad's price. Compromises. The Atmel Stylus might be ok. I'm curious to read reviews about it.

    Their weight is probably marginal, but depending on the Pen in use, the silo might need to be as wide as a barrel.

    I think silos are very useful. With them, you always know where your Pen is -- no matter if you're on the field, or sitting on your couch. I have temporarily lost ball pens in the crevices of couches. I have also made a hole on a sheet because I sat on a pencil once. These things happen because you don't always have a pocket on you. Besides, like you pointed out before, losing a Stylus can mean a $50 loss. Imagine if Bic had made a pen whose cap couldn't fit on the back of the pen... Not only it does fit on both ends of the pen, but it also possess a "clip" that allows the pen to be attached to the collar of a t-shirt. Brilliant! A 25¢ product done right.

    The TPT2 showed at Computex had no silo. Lenovo changed its design (maybe by making the slate 0.3" wider) to make room for the silo. That, plus the US-based CS support, plus the new plant in the US, puts Lenovo on my #1 spot. If the new Clover Trails get good reviews here, Lenovo will get my money eventually.


    [​IMG]
     
  17. Bronsky

    Bronsky Wait and Hope. Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4,361
    Likes Received:
    830
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Location:
    South Jersey
    The fatal flaw of the TP2 is its lack of a folding keyboard. If I had to choose between a proper folding keyboard and pen silo, the silo would loose-out. I don't understand Lenovo's thinking on this issue. So far, the Dell with its replacable 2 and 4 cell batteries, Wacom pen and folding keyboard makes it the superior design IMO, even if it doesn't have a silo. If I was buying an Atom based unit, the Dell would be at the top of the list. The Envy wouldbe close too, depending on thepen it uses. Even the Elitepad's keyboard sleeve converts the tablet into a slider of sorts ... I prefer that to the fixed kb of the Thinkpad. Shame too, since the IBM US based service is a real plus for the Thinkpad.
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2012
  18. e-schreiber

    e-schreiber ƒ(x) / fashion Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Do you wish it could fold and close like a laptop or merely tilt backwards to change the angle at which the screen is looked?

    I agree that, at a minimum, people should be allowed to adjust the slate's angle by some 20 degrees... They might have made the keyboard too light or too small to allow for this movement. If they had put a battery on the keyboard, that would have given it enough weight to allow the slate to tilt; plus that would have given it more juice. But they did put a pointing stick on it and that's another plus to me. I wonder what are the chances of Lenovo making a new keyboard-dock with a battery and some tilting.

    The Dell one isn't yet confirmed to have a keyboard, is it? Its replaceable battery is a big plus and, like the TPT2, it probably meets military specs as well. The Samsung Ativs (official release event tomorrow!) might offer many of these features. We'll know it soon. None of these devices is perfect... There's always something we wish it was a bit different, like aspect ratio, brand of digitizer, size of I/O ports, etc... We always have to swallow a frog here and there. I have high hopes for the Ativ, but it won't meet military specs. :(
     
  19. e-schreiber

    e-schreiber ƒ(x) / fashion Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,616
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    66
  20. dceggert

    dceggert Moving 'up' from iPAQ Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,834
    Likes Received:
    371
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    Here is an interesting teaser....

    Laptops & Tablets | Official HP® Business Store

    This is the page where you choose what category to shop within the Small/Medium Business site. The category for TabletPC's shows they come in sizes from 8.9" to 10.1". If you click on the link you get the Slate 2 at 8.9". I am assuming that the 10.1" is the upcoming Elitepad. So, the pointers are there so it is just a matter of time where they will be showing up...
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2012
Similar Threads: Elitepad
Forum Title Date
Hewlett Packard ElitePad G3? Mar 5, 2015
Hewlett Packard Increase Elitepad 900 GB Feb 18, 2015
Hewlett Packard Forced to restart Elitepad 900 - any future issues for closed programs? Feb 6, 2015
Hewlett Packard View running apps in Elitepad 900 tablet mode Feb 3, 2015
Hewlett Packard Taking snapshot in Elitepad 900 Feb 1, 2015

Share This Page