How to open and upgrade HDD

Discussion in 'EP121 Slate' started by JohnathanKong, Mar 15, 2011.

  1. JackBFlippinNimble

    JackBFlippinNimble Scribbler - Standard Member

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Oh, go to system info, disk, components, storage and disk. Look for partition starting offset, divide that number by 4096. If it is even, then your ok, but if it is not a whole number, you alignment is off. That could be slowing you down. Also make sure your defrag is turned off, and disabled in services. When you did the fresh install, defrag was probably turned on by default. I have an ssd in my other Asus, and although windows should align it correctly on a fresh, on miy first fresh install, it didn't.
     
  2. Steve1130

    Steve1130 Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Just ordered mine finally seems to be back in stock so hopefully get it Monday or Tuesday
     
  3. richcz3

    richcz3 Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Johnathan which brand SSD did you use to replace the existing SSD?
    TIA
     
  4. JohnathanKong

    JohnathanKong Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  5. monkeyboywa

    monkeyboywa Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Im excited to see patriot and a few others are on the 128, 256 size. Patriot announced their 256 version coming soon..no pricing..bet that things like 999 :S

    I tried to go get my tab tonight but got sucked into sucker punch instead..traffic was horrendous...going first thing in the morning :D
     
  6. JackBFlippinNimble

    JackBFlippinNimble Scribbler - Standard Member

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    CrystalDiskMark 3.0.1 x64 (C) 2007-2010 hiyohiyo
    Crystal Dew World : Crystal Dew World
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    * MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

    Sequential Read : 129.796 MB/s
    Sequential Write : 37.078 MB/s
    Random Read 512KB : 99.267 MB/s
    Random Write 512KB : 12.420 MB/s
    Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 7.333 MB/s [ 1790.4 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 2.196 MB/s [ 536.1 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 8.811 MB/s [ 2151.1 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 2.132 MB/s [ 520.6 IOPS]

    Test : 50 MB [C: 67.8% (20.2/29.8 GB)] (x3)
    Date : 2011/04/09 19:16:37
    OS : Windows 7 Home Premium Edition [6.1 Build 7600] (x64)

    This was SD ssd.

    Here is Intel 310 80gb SSD:

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    CrystalDiskMark 3.0.1 x64 (C) 2007-2010 hiyohiyo
    Crystal Dew World : Crystal Dew World
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    * MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

    Sequential Read : 195.820 MB/s
    Sequential Write : 85.822 MB/s
    Random Read 512KB : 155.409 MB/s
    Random Write 512KB : 85.605 MB/s
    Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 14.515 MB/s [ 3543.7 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 20.004 MB/s [ 4883.9 IOPS]
    Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 138.605 MB/s [ 33839.2 IOPS]
    Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 82.046 MB/s [ 20030.8 IOPS]

    Test : 50 MB [C: 26.8% (20.0/74.5 GB)] (x3)
    Date : 2011/04/10 13:43:07
    OS : Windows 7 Home Premium Edition [6.1 Build 7600] (x64)
     
  7. TopTongueBarry

    TopTongueBarry IT Professional

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    After using an HP Slate 500 for a couple months I decided I wanted more horsepower and bought the EP121.
    Love it. I can now play Angry Birds. HP Slate 500 won't run that game (GMA 500 issues).
    Problem: My EP121 only came with 2GB of RAM and 32 GB of storage.

    Upgraded the ram to 4GB and replaced the 32 GB SanDisk mSATA drive with the 80 GB Intel as follows.

    Tip: Want to avoid having to reinstall your apps and anything extra you've installed since purchasing your EP121? Then do the HDD replacement this way:

    - From control panel choose backup and then choose create system image.
    - create your image on an external USB drive.
    - Next create a Windows 7 repair disk 64 Bit and 32 bit versions exist, so create whichever applies. Mine is 64 Bit.
    - Power off the EP121
    - Swap out the Sandisk mSata, replacing it with the Intel ( I replaced my 2GB memory with a 4 GB chip at the same time)
    - Plug a usb hub into one of the USB slots ( you'll need more than two at this juncture)
    - Plug a usb keyboard (win 7 repair disk does not recognize BT)
    - Plug in a USB mouse (win 7 repair disk does not recognize touchscreen)
    - Plug in that USB external hdd you created your image on
    - Plug in an external CD/DVD reader
    - Power up the EP121
    - Enter Bios (Press Del key repeatedly after power button) to ensure boot order has CD/DVD drive first - save and boot from CD/DVD
    - Follow the prompts to restore a system image

    When you are done you'll have the entire contents of your 32 GB Sandisk drive imaged onto the Intel drive.

    One more thing to do after booting up.

    Windows 7 only partitions replacement HDD's exactly like the prior HDD so you'll only have a 32 GB partition.This is easily correctable.

    - Go to my computer and right click or press the touch screen until the right click pull down menu options show.
    - Choose Manage
    - Choose logical disk manager
    - tap on the c partition
    - tap and hold on the c partition to bring up right click pull down menu.
    - tap on extend this partition
    extend it to use the entire 80 GB of the new HDD

    You're done. You now have the Windows installation in the exact state it was in before you replaced your hdd, but transplanted onto your new Intel HDD.

    TTB :)
     
  8. Snoopy0812

    Snoopy0812 Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    ^ I did exactly this and it worked great! Much faster though if you plug the external HDD directly into the tablet rather than through the hub.

    The additional RAM is great, much smoother operation and the HDD benched quite a bit faster than the SanDisk SDD.
     
  9. furythree

    furythree Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    does the cpu look like its accessable? buying soe thermal paste, wndering if custom tim would improve temps
     
  10. Jww1

    Jww1 Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Thanks I purchased the 32 Gig-followed your directions. Everything worked well. How have an 80 Gig with 4 Gig RAM For very little more cost than the 64 Gig you can't buy anyway :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page