How pressure sensitive is the Asus Vivotab 8?

Discussion in 'Asus' started by sunnydayz, Jun 28, 2017.

1. sunnydayz

sunnydayz Pen Pal - Newbie

I'm looking around for portable tablet pcs to buy so I can work on my art commissions anywhere. Is this a good tablet to draw on? I will be using paint tool sai. I'm worried about the size, but I also like it since it is small.

2. Yoyo

Yoyo Pen Pal - Newbie

I was hoping someone else would answer- I'm no artist. More like a scribbler.

Pressure sensitivity and accuracy are decent, as they are on the Surface Pro 1, except within 1/2 inch of the edges of the screen. There both are inconsintent. The little bit of drawing I do, as well as note taking, I avoid the edges by scrolling.

The biggest factor other than edge error is actually dependent on the stylus. I've used the factory 'twig', the Surface Pro 1's stylus, the EMR type Bamboo Feel stylus, and Fujitsu's compact, 2 button model.

Pressure sensitivity is best with the Bamboo model and the factory twig; the Fujitsu and Surface styli have higher minimum pressures and feel less natural to use.

I actually use the Fujitsu one because it has 2 buttons and an eraser. A more art oriented person would certainly prefer the Bamboo stylus.

Use the search function to find comparisons for various styli. I remember several threads covering this rather extensively.

Hope this is useful.

sunnydayz and WillAdams like this.
  3. Azzart

Azzart Late night illustrator Senior Member

Not enough horse power under the hood to do more than just some quick sketching. ;)

P.s.
    With your budget I would look for a used Surface Pro 2.

sunnydayz likes this.
  4. darkmagistric

darkmagistric Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

Despite its aging Bay Trail Atom Core.....I always found the Asus Note 8 was quite capable from a performance perspective. It actually would run Photoshop CC 2014 pretty damn well, and both Manga Studio/ClipStudio Paint and Sketchbook ran perfect on it.