How do you use your tablet for notes?

Discussion in 'The Tablet PC Life' started by Roxlo, Jan 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Roxlo

Roxlo Pen Pal - Newbie

So here's my story. I'm a freshman (2nd semester now) and I just ordered myself a tablet convertible.

My 1st semester, my school work was all over the place and disorganized (but I still managed good grades ;)).

This semester I want to organize myself up, so I went out and bought a few binders and dividers.

But then the idea of a tablet PC came to my mind - having the ability to have all my work on one platform, in my backpack at all times, and being able to have them conveniently archived at the end of the semester. However, I'm not quite sure how to begin.

Should I use my tablet for taking notes in every class, for book notes, etc? How would you all suggest I use my tablet PC to organize myself? Is a tablet more useful than using a plain binder w/ dividers and/or notebook?

I haven't received my tablet yet (coming tomorrow), so I should probably wait until then, but I'd still like to hear some of you all's experiences.

2. Fishface

Fishface Scribbler - Standard Member

I use PDF Revu / PDF annotator to mark up and make notes on my papers. The ability to "add a blank page" at will is invaluable when you are working out a proof completely for yourself. This probably works for electronic slides too. I never print out an electronic resource if I can help it.

I'm no longer taking classes, but I don't think I could write neatly or fast enough on a tablet to keep up with a live lecture that doesn't use slides (e.g., prof sketches a proof on the board, and you have 1 minute to scribble it down while trying to understand it). Also, nothing beats the tactile feeling of pencil on paper when you're brainstorming something out. So I still use notebooks for various things such as this.

3. Roxlo

Roxlo Pen Pal - Newbie