[Guide + pics] How to replace the battery, SSD, and/or regrease CPU cooler on the T300la family

Discussion in 'Asus' started by Danmanlott, Feb 5, 2014.

1. Danmanlott

Danmanlott Pen Pal - Newbie

Preface: If you screw up your tablet doing this I am not at fault, do it at your own risk, I've been screwing around with laptops for 5+ years.

On my tablet (T300la-dh51t) I was curious if the ram was upgradable (it's actually soldered on unfortunately) so I opened up the tablet. You will need a T-6 screwdriver to open the bottom, I just bought this off amazon if you don't already have a set. As a note, the bottom of the back is always last to come off/ first to go on. After you unscrew the two screws use a plastic pry tool to take off the back, alternately a plastic guitar pick or a credit card will do. I usually start from one bottom corner and work my way up and around.

Once the back is removed you are ready to go. But first a quick note, every laptop manufacturer no matter how expensive or cheap seems to put at least 3-4 times as much thermal paste as is needed (see picture), and too much is a bad thing. I would recommend if you are already going to take the cover off you re-grease the CPU. I've had to do this on my last 3 laptops and every time I see a noticeable drop in CPU temps.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

How to...

SSD - On on side of the white ribbon that runs across the SSD, pull the black plastic up and pull the ribbon out. Then unscrew the screw at the end and remove. The SSD uses the m.2 interface so do not buy a mSATA to replace it.