Graphics tablet for an artist and photographer

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by Blacksky, Feb 21, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Blacksky

Blacksky Pen Pal - Newbie

I've been after a graphics tablet for as long as I can remember, but I have never found one that actually worked properly. As an artist I have been thinking about starting a webcomic for a while

1. What is your budget?

About £300\$500 unless there is something really special.

2. Would you consider purchasing used/refurbished?

I don't really mind as long as it works as well as when new and preforms as well as possible.

3. Do you prefer a media/mobile tablet like the iPad, Windows tablet PC, or notebook convertible?

I really don't want to get an iPad but I would be really interested in a computer screen you can draw directly onto as long as it is not extraordinarily expensive. I could be persuaded to spend more if it was something I could use as a regular computer screen as well since I am buying a new PC soon.

4. What size Tablet would you prefer?

More than ten inches for preference, I really hate drawing at small scale and would really like at least eight inches to work with.

5. Which country do you intent to purchase from [where do you live]?

England

6. Do you have any preferences to brand loyalty or dislikes?

No, but I have been looking at Wacom tablets (Though I hear they wear out pen nibs at an extraordinary rate). I'm really just after one that behaves as much like a piece of paper as possible. I have thought about getting a laptop with a touch screen but I am really after a PC at the moment.

7. How many hours battery life do you require?

I would rather it connected directly to the computer and could run off the mains.

8. What will be the primary usage scenario of this tablet? (Email/Web Surfing/Drawing/Word Processing/Entertainment/Notetaking etc)