Gateway vs. Lenovo vs. Toshiba

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by shmoussa, May 9, 2007.

1. shmoussa

shmoussa Pen Pal - Newbie

I really like these three laptops:

Gateway CX-120X
    Toshiba M400
    Lenovo X60 with Touch

I am a student looking to take notes in school. I NEED to be able to rest my hand on the screen while writing. I like the idea of have the touch option. I'm not sure if these have built in microphones and/or webcams but I would like at least one of those. I can't seem to pick which one is really worth it- I have many pros and cons with each.

Gateway: I like the way it looks, but I Gateway has never had a good reputation. I have read that the pens don't always work.

Toshiba M400- I don't think this has touchscreen. But its the cheapest option.

Lenevo X60- I feel like this one has the best reviews all around. However, it is the most expensive.

Which one of these give the best writing experience? I have never had a tablet before, but I want one that feels like I am writing on paper. Could you please give me your input about your experiences with any of these and help me make a decision.

Basically, if you could pick one of these for free, which would it be and which would you absolutely reject, and why. Thank you so much for your time!

2. P8RSON

P8RSON Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

If you want the feeling of writing on paper, it's not so much the tablet you should be looking at but the screen properties.

This can be made better in three different ways:-
    1. Go with a screen with a 'graininess' feeling, such as the 'Anti-Glare' type.
    2. Use a screen protector which not only will protect the screen but give a little extra writing resistance liken to writing on paper.
    3. Change the nib in the pen. For this I use 'Felt' nibs. Felt nibs can be ordered direct from Wacom or you can get them from a third-party source.