Fujitsu T4215 vs. Asus R1F

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by Zain, Feb 16, 2007.

1. Gennaro

Gennaro Pen Pal - Newbie

I'm a student who is opting for a tablet. After spending an extensive amount of time surfing the web I managed to narrow my tablet search to two models:

Fujitsu T4215 / Asus R1F

Both tablets seem to get good reviews, and are very nice. Now I'm not exactly a "noob" when it comes to hardware, but I simply cant decide.

My school reccomends the Fujitsu, as they have worked some deal out to knock off about 300 bucks off the MSRP, but is the Asus better?

The fujitsu model that I would purchase has these specs:

-Intel® CoreTM 2 Duo Processor T7200 (2 GHz,4 MB L2 cache, 667 MHz FSB)
    -1 GB DDR2 667 MHz SDRAM memory (1 GB x1) memory
    -12.1" XGA TFT indoor display with greater than 160° viewing angles
    -80 GB HDD (5400 RPM)
    -Modular Dual-Layer Multi-Format DVD Writer
    -Internal modem, 10/100/1000 Ethernet LAN, and Intel® PRO/Wireless 945ABG Network
    -Bluetooth wireless 2.0

Its also got the goodies like the card readers and bla bla... a quality peice of hardware, and the specs are very good. The price for this unit would be $2,104.82 (at least i think thats 300 bucks off the price for this model)

Or, the Asus (which to my knowledge only has one configuration)

- Intel Core Duo 2 T5500 1.66GHz 2MB L2 Cache, 667FSB
    - 13.3" ColorShine (CS) 160° WXGA (1280x800) Display
    - 80GB Shock Mounted 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive
    - Modular Super Multi Format DVD±RW Drive (Slot)
    - Integrated 10/100/1000 Gigabit LAN
    - Integrated Intel Tri-Mode 802.11a+b/g Wireless LAN
    - Integrated Global 56K Modem
    - Integrated Bluetooth V2.0 EDR PAN
    - Trusted Platform Module & Finger Print Scanner
    - Built-in High Definition Audio w/Surround Sound

Another nice unit, 1 inch bigger screen...but in my eyes not that much difference... From what I see the online retailers sell this for about 1,800.00