Fixes to some of my Windows 10 grievances

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by lblb, Feb 17, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lblb

lblb Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

Hi all,

I'm brand new to Win 10 and I'm trying to fix some of the problems I encounter. Coming from Windows 7, some of these issues can be rather puzzling... For many of them, I couldn't easily find solutions out there, so I thought I'd document the results of my investigations in here in the hopes of eliciting some comments, and perhaps, helping others.

1) Screen edge swipe gestures get in the way and I can't turn them off

I've suffered quite a bit from unwittingly launching Task View or the Action Center via the screen edge swipe gestures. There doesn't seem (yet?) to be a native way to disable the screen edge swipe gestures so I looked around for possible solutions as I don't really care for this functionality. There really isn't much out there and the only hint I found was in the following thread:

I tried it on my Vaio Canvas Z running Win 10 Pro and it works like a charm! No more annoying edge gestures getting in the way!
    Maybe others here will be interested. It uses an app that was originally developed for Win 8 to get rid of the Charms bar. If you're interested:

- Download "Skip Metro Suite" following the link at the bottom of this page:
    http://winaero.com/comment.php?comment.news.103
    - Run it (no need for installation, just double-click on it).
    - Click ALL the checkboxes.
    - Click Save Settings.
    - Re-start your computer.​

Works great for me! It eliminates the edge swipes but you can still launch Task View and the Action Center by their taskbar buttons or via keyboard shortcuts (Win+Tab and Win+a). I've been using this for quite a while now without any issues. From the link above, it seems to also work on the Surface Pro 3 and several users on Reddit reported it works for them.

Maybe others here will find this useful!