first impression

Discussion in 'Asus' started by Loaf., Oct 24, 2006.

1. youngmicroserf

youngmicroserf Pen Pal - Newbie

Hi, after getting so much input from this site concerning my possible purchase of an R1F I just thought I'd share my first impressions of the computer. I did not buy it yet, but I found a notebook retailer with a showroom worthy of the name, so I could have a look and play around a bit; although I could neither use the pen nor insert it into the pen housing, the pen was absent from the tablet in the showroom and, and I did not ask to look for it as I was in a little hurry myself.

I was really looking forward to the R1F as the closest thing to what I saw on a Toshiba ad in May 1996, a "powersheet", supposedly available in 2006. It was a slate tablet with built in camera, handwriting recognition, with A4 size, and, despite hard drive and everything, only about 0.5 cm high.

I have never used a tablet before, except the very first Acer on the day Tablets were released to the public in 2002. Back then, I did not jump. This time, I think I will - even though the R1F is not exactly like the powersheet (with keyboard) I was hoping for.

It's heavier than I thought it would be, and it's a little high with about 35mm. Not too high or too heavy for truly portable "lap" use, but not as good as I hoped for - remember I'm not a tablet expert who knows what the technology is able to deliver, I'm a guy with some idea to which a particular product conforms or not (exactly) conforms.