Final (hopefully) questions.

Discussion in 'Asus' started by P8RSON, Nov 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ToKu

ToKu Pen Pal - Newbie

My laptop is on its last leg and its time to start looking for her replacement. After a change in lifestyle I feel I no longer need alot of the functions I once did with a laptop, like gaming ability, or storage of mp3's and the such.

After much consideration and research its really come down to the R1 and the R2.

While I would still like a device powerful enough to act as a hub between my technology size is not a issue. I have decided on a tablet for more efficient note taking.

I am | | close to deciding on the R2 and have some final questions:

I have never used a tablet before but want to be able to furiously scribble notes and save them semi often, as well as erase errors. Is the R2 up to the task?

I would like to watch DVD's occasionally, as well as other video online, sound isnt an issue I am 1 step shy of having headphones installed on my head permanently. How is the view quality and lag?

Can this tablet go from native to portrait? While taking notes?

Whats the max ram this thing can have? Is it something I have to order initially or something I can switch out myself fairly hassel free and w/o voiding warrenty?

-afterthought-

Still considering the R1 as well, I will conduct some tests to see how comfortable I am writing the R2's screen. I write small so dont expect much trouble. The R1 would meet all my needs np. This is really comming down to a size vs weight. =)

2. P8RSON

P8RSON Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

Okay... let's go over this for you ToKu.

TabletPC's have come a long way since they were first released.
    As such tasks such as writing with the pen has become much easier and accurate.
    As an example, all my tablets work straight out of the box with multiple users hand writing ....and my Brother has one of the worst farmer scrawls around :D.