EXPERTS, pick one for me, too!

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by cstuartcompute, Nov 3, 2007.

1. cstuartcompute

cstuartcompute Pen Pal - Newbie

i just purchased the hp pavilion 1320 and am highly disappointed. i didn't realize there were so many types of touch screen technologies. i thought that is was either optical or pressure. the hp is pressure sensitive, but i'm so use to using a wacom pad that i can't stand the hp. it requires way too much pressure to get it to write, and it skips when drawing.

after reading tiffany's review on it, i realize now that i need one with penabled wacom technology. it is difficult to search for this as it is often left off of the spec sheet.

if anyone can help with a short list of the top wacom active tablet pcs, that would be great. i am an industrial designer and would need enough power to run rhino (an auto cad program). the 1320 had all the mem and ram i needed, but the tablet portion was a big disappointment.

please help!!

2. SimsHsia

SimsHsia "I will do science to it" Senior Member

Hi cstuartcompute,

Actually, the HP tx1000z series is pressure non-sensitive. It only has one level of pressure sensitivity; compared to 256 levels of pressure sensitivity a Tablet PC with a Wacom Penabled active digitizer. However, it does take a great deal of pressure to get the screen to recognize you are writing on the screen. But I get what you mean by it being pressure sensitive, you need some "gentle persuasion" (tap! TAP! tap!). ;)

As for which Tablet PCs have a Wacom Penabled active digitizer, you're in luck! The mass majority of Tablet PCs come with it!

I'll recommend a few, in no particular order:
    (I've bolded ones you should take a good look at, and that I recommend)

- Fujitsu LifeBook T4220
    - Gateway C-140X
    - Asus R1F/new soon-to-be-available R1E
    - Lenovo ThinkPad X61 (you may have quality issues with this one, bear this in mind when you deal with tech/customer support)