Enhanced graphics driver from wacom????

Discussion in 'Lenovo (IBM)' started by alphaod, Jul 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. linda.sheffield

linda.sheffield Pen Pal - Newbie

Hi everyone;
    I have been fighting with Painter X for a day now. Not surprising, as I am new to Painter, but my big problem is that I can't seem to get pressure sensivity out of my pen.
    I searched Lenovo to see if I am in fact pressure sensitive. I learned that we are not fabulously pressure sensitive, but we are 256 pressure sensitive. Okay, so now, I can actually get it to work in Windows Journal, but not in Painter. So, after bouncing around for a while, I came across this driver on the Wacom site.

http://www.wacom.com/tabletpc/driver.cfm

I am using Vista, and when I clicked on Vista, this is what I got (although the wording says "XP Tablet", I am assuming that because I clicked on Visa, it is compatible with Vista as well.

Anyway, it is supposed to enhance the pressure sensitivity in Photoshop (which I have yet to upgrade), and Painter, which I am using a trial version of as we speak.

I know how drivers can get, so before I actually install this thing, I though I would ask for advice first:).

Can anyone help? Can I install this? Is this what the problem is or is there some sort of pressure sensitive preference in Painter that I have yet to find?

2. P8RSON

P8RSON Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

Hi Linda,
    The Wacom Enhanced Graphics driver which you mention is one which I advocate strongly for any user of a Tablet that supports pressure sensitivity to install.

Using this driver really does give better control over pressure sensitivity.

I don't use it with Painter but it most certainly works with Photoshop.

3. linda.sheffield

Wow! Big difference! Thanks again:)

4. P8RSON

P8RSON Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

No problem Linda.