Dual-Booting Linux on C-140X

Discussion in 'Acer (Gateway)' started by playersnoopy, Sep 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Iceman

Iceman Pen Pal - Newbie

Ok, I'm new to Linux/Unix, I want to dual-boot so that I can experiment with Linux, but not really mess thing up too bad and until I figure it out be able to use Windows XP. I'd appreciate any help you can offer.

2. playersnoopy

playersnoopy Pen Pal - Newbie

adding Linux on top of XP is easy, just pop in a linux version you want and boot from the dvd and it'll take care of everything through step by step. Going in reverse is more tricky. Just like dual booting Vista on top of XP is easy but adding Vista on top of XP is tricky.

But with the C-140X processing capabilities, if you're looking to just experiment then I'd suggest running some virtualization software and install linux in that environment. Only draw back is that everything will be a slightly slower when running but the benefits far outweigh that. Since you can't mess up your current installation of XP and everything stays in tack, plus you can have access to both OS at once instead of rebooting. VirtualPC 2007 from Microsoft is a free software and works fine for the most part, unless you're on Vista 64, I'm having some issues running fedora within it. VMWare is one of my favorites and then you have Parallels which is a nice little tool.

3. Iceman

Iceman Pen Pal - Newbie

Thanks, Im gonna go the virtual PC route for now, any recommendations on what version of Linux I should use?

4. playersnoopy

well there are tons of flavors but for beginners you might want to go with something like Fedora or openSUSE, Fedora is basically redhat's version of open source and openSUSE is from Novell. Both are very user friendly trying to give you the sense of using something like a Windows environment. I personally like the blue look and feel of Fedora, and their new version is nice.

5. chriscannon