Digital artist, need tablet for sketching, painting, editing

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by sygnin, Feb 14, 2013.

1. sygnin

sygnin Pen Pal - Newbie

Hi! I am a professional digital illustrator; my home studio setup is Win 7 Pro desktop with a Wacom Cintiq 24HD and another screen. I use my computer to draw in Photoshop, and to create my art in Illustrator and Photoshop. Photoshop is my primary tool for pressure sensitive drawing, though I can also use Sketchbook if I have to.

I need a mobile solution for under $1000 CAN. I would prefer a tablet with an optional keyboard if possible. Something that is light, but powerful enough to run my programs. I obviously need something with at least a stylus input and pressure sensitivity. If you have used a Cintiq before, you'll know how it's very responsive - I am looking for something that is similar. I cannot draw on a tablet that has lag (I tried on my current, non pressure sensitive Asus tablet, couldn't do it).

Thanks!

Below is the questions and answers the site asked to fill:

1. What is your budget?
    Under $1000 CAN

2. Would you consider purchasing used/refurbished?
    No

3. Do you prefer a media/mobile tablet like the iPad, Windows tablet PC, or notebook convertible?
    Prefer a Windows Pro tablet, or a very light convertable

4. What size Tablet PC would you prefer?
    13in ideally

5. Which country do you intent to purchase from [where do you live]?
    Canada

6. Do you have any preferences to brand loyalty or dislikes?
    Like - Asus, Lenovo // Dislike - Dell, Apple

7. How many hours battery life do you require?
    Not that important. 5h+ would be nice.

8. What will be the primary usage scenario of this tablet? (Email/Web Surfing/Drawing/Word Processing/Entertainment/Notetaking etc)