Dell Venue 8 Pro - Game experiences thread (not just touch enabled games!)

Discussion in 'Dell' started by baconstrip, Nov 14, 2013.

  1. baconstrip

    baconstrip Pen Pal - Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    5
    So I plan on using my V8P for gaming on the go, not just touch screen games but real games ;) Here are my current experiences. feel free to add whatever you can!


    (FYI, in order to play games, I have used a logitech wireless gamepad with an OTG cable connected to wireless dongle. Works GREAT! Still looking for the perfect tiny keyboard / mouse solution)

    Civilization 5 - I was initially having crashes every time I tried to load a game. Changing all settings to the minimum allowed the game to load. Only problem is, it crashes quite quickly after loaded. I am wondering if the Win 8 Touch mode automatically puts the game into DX11. Going to do some research to see if I can get touch controls on DX 9, I would imagine it will run better. Some people have stated that Civ 5 runs just fine on their V8P, but mine is not playable yet. Anyone have a solution? EDIT: Seems to run great under DX9 mode, but then I don't have the touchscreen friendly controls :(

    League of Legends - Runs quite well - Be sure to plug in a mouse (thanks Boomwaller!)

    Dust - Elysian Tail - Runs quite well, works perfectly from the start with my controller. Also looks beautiful on the screen! No problems.

    Shadowrun Returns - Runs quite well and even seems to be playable with the touch screen.

    Fez - Choppy, borderline playable. Some levels were really jerky and there isn't much in the way of graphics options. Probably could lower the screen rez.. but then things wouldn't look as beautiful on the screen.

    Mount and Blade - Warband Seemed to run great, though could not really do anything without a kb/mouse, so couldn't really test

    Legend of Grimrock Runs great at medium settings!

    Mark of the Ninja Playable, turn all graphics effects off

    Braid Runs great

    Crusader Kings II Fairly choppy, Playable though! Don't need high framerate for this game :) Looks pretty, text is tiny.

    Walking Dead runs playable, maybe could get by with using a touch screen only? Seemed to work fine

    Rogue Legacy Didn't really play past loading it up, but it seemed to run great!

    Fallout 2 Actually runs poorly until you download the Fallout 2 Restoration project. After that, the game runs perfectly. BTW, since it is not a game that uses the GPU ,it's a great one to play for an extended duration. Could probably handle 6+ hours of F2 before battery ran out.

    Fallout 3 Cannot get it to run. Loads into the menu, starts, but upon loading a new game, crashes every time. Tried a few "fixes", no luck.

    Super Meat Boy Runs perfectly

    Geometry Wars Runs perfectly



    Will post more as I try them out!
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2013
    HTWingNut and onkelosuppo like this.
  2. boomwaller

    boomwaller Pen Pal - Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hey,

    For LoL I was running into the same issue, I finally got it working when I hooked up a mouse a USB mouse. I haven't tried a Bluetooth mouse but my wireless mouse and USB mouse both allow me to log in a play LoL. If I have no mouse attached I will run into the same issue that you have with pvp.net failing. If you need screenshots or pics of my setup I would be glad to help, just ask.
     
  3. boomwaller

    boomwaller Pen Pal - Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Hey I was able to get LoL running after using a mouse when trying to run the game. I have used both a USB mouse and USB wireless mouse. I have not tried a Bluetooth one, and if I do not have a mouse plugged in I get the same pvp.net error. I can take screenshots of it running and pics of my setup if you need.
     
  4. cameld00d

    cameld00d Pen Pal - Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    15
    A lot of it is unfortunately windows 8. I had a hecka time getting Star Trek Online to work, but once it is in it plays beautifully. I played LoL for a couple of years and loved it, might give it a shot and see if I can get it to work but I am leaning towards swapping for the miix2 or trying the acer w4 because of these dang hoops I am jumping through for charge and use usb peripherals.

    Best bets are to try compatibility modes, try any safe mode available on the game, see if you can edit the graphics config files and make it as low as possible to start. Change the settings in the intel graphics controls to minimum as well (performance). Don't run anything else at the same time that could steal focus.
     
  5. baconstrip

    baconstrip Pen Pal - Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Wow that absolutely worked! Thank you!
     
  6. boomwaller

    boomwaller Pen Pal - Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Glad to see that helped! league has a weird thing that it needs a mouse to launch for some reason. Well if you need help with anything else let me know.
     
  7. jtoverath

    jtoverath Pen Pal - Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    Got X-Com Working, like LoL it apparently requires a mouse to be connected to work (will have to test a game controller this weekend). I used a bluetooth mouse. Since the game is going to need at least a keyboard (or controller if that works) I guess it won't be an issue. Graphics are definitely choppy and load times are long. Going to have to double check all the SSD setting in the BIOS make sure everything is at top speed.

    Still can't get Civ 5 to actually run, crashes when it should load the map.
     
  8. burshturs

    burshturs Pen Pal - Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    How was the gameplay experience with Xcom? did it run smooth?
     
  9. jtoverath

    jtoverath Pen Pal - Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    The video seemed kind of jerky from what I saw. I just loaded to see if it would work didn't really do much with it.
     
  10. burshturs

    burshturs Pen Pal - Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    it would be awsome if its playable.
     

Share This Page