Confused Artist??? Wacom Cintiq 12wx or Tablet PC?

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by ronvdm777, Mar 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronvdm777

ronvdm777 Pen Pal - Newbie

Hello all. As you can see, I am a newbie to this forum. I am also a newbie when it comes to computer art. I am an artist by lifestyle but not employment. I love to paint, draw, carve, etc. Unfortunatley, my current living space doesn't allow for the painting or carving, and I would rather draw right onto my computer than onto a piece of paper which I then have to scan.

So, after having said all of that, I can't decide between the Wacom Cintiq 12wx or a Tablet PC. I am concerned about the Wacom because my current laptop is not that powerful and I don't know if it would run the programs I have read about in these forums.

Hopefully my responses to the questions set out below will assist you in providing me with the guidance I so desperately need.

General Questions.

1. What is your budget? $500 - $1000 (but prefer to keep it low if possible)

2. Would you consider purchasing used/refurbished? Not used, but refurbished by the manufacturer is OK.

3. Do you prefer a Slate, Convertible or Ultra Mobile PC (UMPC)?I don't know. I don't intend on typing with it so a slate would be fine, however, if a convertible or Ultra Mobile PC would produce a better quality image and allow for greater flexibility using brushes etc, I would go for one of those even if it costs a little more.

4. What size Tablet PC would you prefer?

* Small and light ~ 5" to 8.9"
    * Compact ~ 10"
    * Mainstream ~ 12.1"
    * Large ~ 13.3"

5. Which country do you intent to purchase from? Canada or the USA

6. Do you have any preferences to brand loyalty or dislikes? Not yet :p

7. How many hours battery life do you require? My primary use will be in doors. I intend to use it while reclining on the couch (lol).