Concepts for Windows 10

Discussion in 'Software' started by Azzart, Aug 3, 2018.

1. Azzart

Azzart Late night illustrator Senior Member

One of the coolest apps I have ever seen on the iPad has finally arrived to Windows 10!
    I have yet to try it, but I totally love the thought and design they put in this little gem. :)

2. JoeS

JoeS I'm all ears Senior Member

Nice. Here's the store link for those who want to try it out:
    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/p/concepts/9ngqm8fph9wq

Marty, WillAdams and Azzart like this.
  3. Azzart

I hope they get rid of the finger drawing while using the stylus, it's just too easy to leave unwanted stray marks around the canvas.

Last edited: Aug 3, 2018
    WillAdams likes this.
  4. Azzart

Errata corrige: the option to exclude finger painting has always been there just under my nose. -.-

WillAdams and JoeS like this.
  5. jhoff80

jhoff80 Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

So I'm not an artist or anything, but I'm curious, what does this do better than other sketchbook apps? It feels very similar to the dozen or so others I've played with, except for maybe the way the color palette works. (And even those colors feel fairly limited to me, though I guess there's a certain color theory behind it?)

6. Azzart

@jhoff80
    It's the way it's thought and made that makes the difference.
    Consider though that it's a work in progress, the Win 10 version still lacks a lot of features compared to the original version.

Being an iOS app it is one of the few that's completely built around touch gestures.
    In this video you can see some of them explained:

Aside from being vector based while the others are raster, you can see the interface isn't the standard interface you see in so many apps from the Windows Store: Sketchable and Leonardo both have the same old look of tens of apps sprouted from the Windows 8 era. Lazy and boring design. And chaotic.