Christmas!!! Stand alone tablet for 11 yr old artist, painting, cartoon, animation, manga P

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by Mom, Nov 8, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mom

Mom Pen Pal - Newbie

Need advice please for a stand alone, portable, tablet/pad for Christmas.
    Budget up to $700
    Stand alone ( not hooked desktop)
    Wide variety of art applications and ease of use. Please help. Surface Pro?

2. Master Architect

Master Architect Pen Pal - Newbie

Yeah that's tough because there's so many options. A Tablet PC is great but gives the child access to the web and malware and etc. and really needs parental controls turned on but even so there's some risks there. A used ipad pro may be good but they are so fragile you'll need a case plus the pen's $100 and children like to lose things! Because I'm a tech-guy, I went the tablet pc route and turned on parental controls but if I wasn't a techy, I would probably go for the ipad and tie the pen to a hefty case. Still, you should have some parental controls on it and it'll be hard to find one for that price.

3. Shogmaster

Shogmaster Pen Pro - Senior Member Senior Member

If your kid is very PC savvy, something like Surface Pro would be good but otherwise iPad Pro 10.5 or Samsung Galaxy Tab S3 would be better.

There is a really light and thin Surface Pro alternative on sale today well under your budget. Well reviewed.

http://amzn.to/2hNsxIh

4. surfaceproartist

surfaceproartist Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

The Matebook is a very nice low-cost Windows tablet. You may also find m3 Surface Pro models in your price range this weekend. Whether you go Windows or iOS, make sure to budget for a copy of Clip Studio Paint. It's all the software your child will need.

thatcomicsguy likes this.
  5. Azzart

Azzart Late night illustrator Senior Member

I'd go the iPad Pro route. It's the simplest route of all.

6. darkmagistric