Cheap PC Tablet for Digital Art?

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by Enkmar, Feb 27, 2010.

1. Enkmar

Enkmar Pen Pal - Newbie

Hello everyone,

I'm a writer who purchased a netbook about two years ago and I love it. I write on it the majority of the time, and it fits my lifestyle perfectly. I've always dabbled with art as well, and more recently I experimented with digital art and I'm hooked. With all that said, I'm considering trying my hand at comic books.

The trick is I don't feel comfortable investing too much money on features I might not be using, if I decide not to continue on this path. At the same time, I connect to my work better through a computer. I think it's the comfort of an "Undo" button, so mistakes are easy to fix.

With all that said, I'm curious what the most affordable pressure-sensative tablet PCs are. Here's my form:

1. What is your budget? I doubt I'd spend over $600, and the cheaper the better

2. Would you consider purchasing used/refurbished? Yes

3. Do you prefer a Slate, Convertible or Ultra Mobile PC (UMPC)? Convertible

4. What size Tablet PC would you prefer? Any

5. Which country do you intent to purchase from? USA

6. Do you have any preferences to brand loyalty or dislikes? No preference

7. How many hours battery life do you require? 3-4

8. What will be the primary usage scenario of this tablet? (Email/Web Surfing/Drawing/Word Processing/Entertainment/Notetaking etc) Drawing and Writing

9. Do you have an OS preference? Any Windows

10. What software and tasks do you intend to run? (Microsoft Office or other Word Processing Suite/Photoshop/3D Studio Max/Autocad etc) I'll be trying several art apps

10. Do you intend on playing Games? If so please list. No

Screen Specifics

1. What resolution do you prefer? No preference

2. Do you require the screen to be readable in sunlight? That would be nice, but not necessary

3. Do you prefer your display to be glossy or matte? Matte would be nice, but not necessary