capturing signature using tablet?

Discussion in 'HP TouchSmart TM2 (Wacom)' started by fry_guy, Mar 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fry_guy

fry_guy Pen Pal - Newbie

just joined the forum after lurking for a while. got my tm2 2 days ago and have been enjoying its use ever since.

what i'm looking to do (and didn't see any posts about) is to capture my written signature using the tablet for putting on docs which require it. Is there special software required to do that? i'm very new to tablets as well.

2. JayT

JayT Pen Pal - Newbie

Simply "draw" your signature in a graphics program (such as MS Paint). Crop and save the result as a graphics file (png, gif, jpg etc). This can then be imported into your documents.

3. Meatlocker

Meatlocker Software Development Pro

MS Outlook 2007 and 2010 allows inking right in an email, so you could sign each email if you wanted to. Word allows the same.

4. corecomps

corecomps OSX86 User

fry - fyi the signature is purely visual and is not going to be legaly binding or contractual in any way.

The process of legally signing a document is a bit more complex but here is a link to aid you:

http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/word/CH060839901033.aspx

If you are just looking for the "flashiness" of having your signature on e-mails for visual sake only, then what JayT describes is going to be just fine.

5. TMetzinger

TMetzinger Pen Pal - Newbie

Digital signatures are not required to be "legal". State law may vary, and even the Federal law on Electronic signatures is scarily vague. Bottom line is that any individual transaction may specify what constitutes a legally binding signature. For the IRS on your TurboTax filing it's one thing, dealing with the state may be something else. For DEA controlled substances a very tightly controlled digital signature is required - it's probably one of the few really rigorous digital signature applications in government.