Buying Tecra M4...Is 128MB Video Too Much?

Discussion in 'Toshiba' started by Barry J. Doyle, May 27, 2005.

1. ougrad1764

ougrad1764 Pen Pal - Newbie

I was in the process of customizing a Tecra M4 tablet pc on Toshiba.com and encountered a couple difficult considerations. Since I'm new to the tablet pc world, I thought a few kind folks here could help :)

Questions: How much system and graphics memory muscle do I really need? Should I "future-proof" (well at least for the next three years) by getting 128MB of graphics memory, or are 64 MB plenty? Should I go for 1024MB of main memory, or are 512MB enough?

Situation: I'm heading off to get a PhD this fall. I intend to use my tablet pc for teaching classes (hook-up to projector and mark-up ppt slides, show video clips), taking classnotes, research, etc. I like Toshiba's laptops (currently on a Satellite Pro M15-S405) and want to step-up to a tablet pc after reading all the wonderful things about them. However, it'll also be my primary pc, so I need it to have some power for periodic video editing, gaming, etc., along with a larger 14" screen. Thus, the Tecra M4. Though it's a little heavier than most tablets, it seems comparable in weight to my current Satellite, so no big deal.

Current specs of concern on Tecra M4 order: Pentium M 760 2.0Ghz processor, 512MB (will get from crucial, since $$ from Toshiba), 60GB harddrive (5400RPM), nVIDIA GeForce Go 6600 TE 128MB DDR SDRAM.

Thanks for your advice!

2. Barry J. Doyle

Barry J. Doyle Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

Without sounding like Yoda, the future is hard to see. Right now 64MB of video RAM is almost essential, especially for doing the presentations you are planning. If you are going to keep the Tablet for 2-3 years, I would go for the 128MB video RAM option and call it a done deal.