Building my own Tablet PC

Discussion in 'The Tablet PC Life' started by jaydenbain, Sep 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jaydenbain

jaydenbain Pen Pal - Newbie

I am currently a high school student with a pretty good knowledge of the operation of a computer, I am for one of my subjects (research project) building my own Windows based tablet PC, I have spent some time searching several possible ways to actually do this and I have found that the cheapest and simplest way is to buy a net book (my ideal size would be 10.1 inch) disassemble it use most of the components including the screen which as far as I am aware I will need to buy a separate touchscreen overlay and touch adapter for it to work, the idea for a case/shell was to use mold-able carbon fiber and shape it myself.

This is a forum dedicated to any advice that anyone in the community can offer to me, even the smallest tips can be helpful, I would really appreciate any advice I can get as this is a new field for me. thanks in advance!

2. e-schreiber

e-schreiber ƒ(x) / fashion Senior Member

3. bloodycape

bloodycape confused Senior Member

Well you could start with a 10in device like the Lenovo S10 convertible, but that is using an older Atom cpu, there is also a few 10in Toshiba convertibles that have digitizer support. If you really want to go different LG made a 10.6in convertible years ago with a dedicated gpu, but that was mostly offered overseas. It was the P100

4. jaydenbain

Thanks for your replies, I would like to build my own rather than just buy a completed one. One of the main reasons I want to use a net book is that they usually have a very long battery life that would be needed to run a tablet, as well as great battery life they are usually relatively thin, and this will help when when I take it apart to use in my custom case, I can save on thickness but using the already thinned lay-out.