Bubbles in LCD screen tc4400

Discussion in 'Hewlett Packard' started by ryanswj, Aug 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ryanswj

ryanswj Pen Pal - Newbie

Hi there! Just got a tc4400 and the screen has a few bubbles on it :(

A similar picture can be found here: Thinkpad X61 Tablet LCD Bubbles « Blog

Apparently the X61t seems to have this issue, but no one has reported it for the tc4400. Does anyone know how I can fix this?

It's quite sad because this is my first time using the tablet :( My screen is the indoor/outdoor XGA screen.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Steve S

Steve S Pen Pro - Senior Member Super Moderator

<<...Just got a tc4400 and the screen has a few bubbles on it...>>

ryan: Is this a used tc4400? The only way I could see bubbles forming in the LCD screen is if the edge seal integrity was compromised. That would imply that you will need to replace the screen at some point in the future.

Any chance you can return this unit to whoever sold it to you? That would be my recommendation...

3. ryanswj

ryanswj Pen Pal - Newbie

Yup, got this second-hand off ebay. It would be economically inefficient to return this tablet as the shipping costs (seller is in US, I am in Singapore) would easily be more than I paid for the tablet. Plus I really love this machine.

Looks like the only way I can get around this is to change the LCD... that would be much cheaper!

Would changing the LCD be very difficult? Will the bubbles keep growing?

Also, is it possible that rough handling during shipping could have caused this bubbling problem?

Thanks!

Last edited: Aug 24, 2013
  4. Steve S

Steve S Pen Pro - Senior Member Super Moderator

<<...Would changing the LCD be very difficult?..>>