BIOS Settings for Gateway M285-E

Discussion in 'Acer (Gateway)' started by Waynehjr1, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. Waynehjr1

    Waynehjr1 Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Does anyone know if there is a BIOS update that will allow more versatility for the settings inside the Gateway M285-E Tablet PC?

    I ask this because I am in the process of upgrading my Gateway M285-E. I'm waiting for the new 'Seagate Momentus XT 500gb ST95005620AS Solid State' & '4GB RAM 2x2GB DDR2 200 Pin PC2-64000 800MHz Memory' to arrive.

    I actually have already installed the T7600G (2.33GHz) Processor, which allows for overclocking up to 3.16GHz.

    The existing BIOS does not allow for any alterations to the CPU. I am just curious if there might be a way around this.

    I am planning on installing Windows 7 OS when the HD arrives. I am not sure if that will change the BIOS at all, yet, until I actually install the OS.

    Any information will be helpful.
     
  2. Waynehjr1

    Waynehjr1 Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Well I have finally received and installed 'Seagate Momentus XT 500gb ST95005620AS Solid State' & '4GB RAM 2x2GB DDR2 200 Pin PC2-64000 800MHz Memory'. They all work fine with one exception, I have to use Vista instead of Windows 7. I tried installing Windows 7 64bit and it will install all the updates except for the 'Finepoint Inovations' upgrade. It keeps on failing to install. Is there a fix for this somewhere?
     
  3. Spartikiss

    Spartikiss Scribbler - Standard Member

    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Sounds like a bad install of Win7 or a bad copy of the driver...

    Try downloading both again and reinstalling.

    -Spart
     
  4. NamelessPlayer

    NamelessPlayer Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    31
    FinePoint...that's the pen digitizer used in those first-generation Viper convertibles, and also the one used in the Compaq TC1000.

    I don't know much about it, but in addition to needing a pen battery, its software support appears to be noticeably lacking compared to Wacom (which, coincidentally, both the second-gen Gateway Viper convertibles and the TC1100 use, along with almost every other Tablet PC on the market).

    Is the Vista version in question 32-bit? That might explain it, for if FinePoint hasn't produced any 64-bit drivers, you're SOL on 64-bit Windows and will have to go for 32-bit Win7.
     
Similar Threads: BIOS Settings
Forum Title Date
Acer (Gateway) How to Enter into ICONIA W500's BIOS settings? Apr 23, 2011
Acer (Gateway) Black Screen after flashing BIOS v1.05 ACER ICONIA W500 Aug 8, 2013
Acer (Gateway) Re install your bios in damageed Acer Iconia Tab W500 W501 Jul 14, 2013
Acer (Gateway) Bios 1.14M for W500 Feb 4, 2013
Acer (Gateway) W510: Bios + Driver Update Dec 19, 2012

Share This Page