Beware Fujtisu T4210 Owners - Melted Tablet!!

Discussion in 'Fujitsu' started by Bhaltair, Dec 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bgstewar

bgstewar Pen Pal - Newbie

I don't believe this actually happened. Every so often my tablet decides not to shut down entirely, so the next time I open it the battery has run down. Well, this time it did it in my backpack with the fan facing downwards. When I pulled it out after TWO hours, it was so hot I almost burned my hand. But then I smelled something...BURNING PLASTIC. MY TABLET HAD MELTED!! The screen was melted, the stylus holder melted, MELTED MELTED MELTED!! After an hour of cooling off I am still able to use the tablet so I was luckily able to back everything up. I'm a vet student so I can't afford to be without my course notes.

I went to Fujitsu's website to check the battery recall status. Apparently my battery is not involved in the recall so it should be working just fine.

Needless to say, I now have a still seemingly functional but MELTED new T4210. BEWARE! I am actually on the phone right now with a very helpful Fujitsu customer service rep. I will keep everyone posted with updates on this issue.

Update: Fujitsu customer support is VERY helpful, and they are paying for overnight shipping to their repair facility to get to work on it ASAP. The man gave me lots of numbers to keep track of repair status, and again, I will keep everyone updated as to what happens with this mess.

2. P8RSON

P8RSON Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

Thank you for providing the information.

First, you are absolutely correct ~ the tablet simply should not act in this manner.
    Indeed it should shut off when at a temperature that could damage the device.

Secondly, as you have found, Fujitsu customer support when activated is exceptional and is one of the main reasons why I recommend Fujitsu and Fujitsu Siemens hardware devices.