Better to Clone to new SSD or install from scratch?

Discussion in 'The Tablet PC Life' started by Steve B, Aug 2, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Steve B

Steve B Moderator Moderator

I have a 500 GB 2.5" (old school!) SSD lying around, and I'm down to the last 20 GB or so on my current one. I'm debating either attempting to clone my Thinkpad 460 to new SSD (something I've never done before, ever, and would need to probably buy a case and software for), or simply rip some DVDs and install Win 10 from scratch on the new SSD. I've wondered if a fresh install (which I've not done on this Thinkpad, ever) would be useful, and make it snappier, or if it might introduce driver issues instead of solving them.

In general, my current device runs fine. However, I've had a hard time with touch responding promptly, for example (I often have to 2x or 3x tap the screen to get it to start working), and have wondered if it might run smoother/quicker besides with a new install. I've not gone through the hassle before, but now (while putting in a new drive) seemed like the time to do it if I was going to.

I was also considering upgrading ram to 16 gb ram, as I occasionally cap out on 8gb ram when multi-tasking. I'm assuming this will also help general snappiness too.

Looking for input from wiser souls.

2. ORTOX

ORTOX Scribbler - Standard Member

What version of Windows 10 are you running? 1803? If so, I'm assuming you've upgraded via Windows update with each Windows 10 iteration. Generally, I install Windows 10 from scratch with each Windows 10 build iteration. I've had Windows 10 build upgrades break things. I've heard the general consensus is that a fresh install performs better than installing a new build on top of an old build.