Best Tablet PC Software for Math Teacher

Discussion in 'Software' started by MrAlgebra, May 21, 2011.

1. MrAlgebra

MrAlgebra Pen Pal - Newbie

Hi all,

I am a math teacher (Algebra 1, Algebra 2, pre-Calculus) and my school will be getting me a Windows 7 Tablet PC in the fall. What math software should I be considering to take advantage of the Tablet and the stylus?

2. Steve S

Steve S Scribbler - Standard Member Super Moderator

<<...What math software should I be considering...>>

Mr: Take a look at Calculator and MathJournal by xThink . xThink offers demo versions of both applications so that you can try before you buy and there is a student discount. (Note that you have to contact xThink to get the MathJournal demo.)

Of course, there's Wolfram's Mathematica ( www.wolfram.com ), and if you can be online while teaching, you can leverage Wolfram Alpha. Other apps include Microsoft's Mathematics 4:

Microsoft Mathematics: Microsoft Education Product Center

and other apps like MAPLE, MatLab, etc. Microsoft used to offer a demo version of a research project called MathPad, but I'm pretty sure that the demo has now been withdrawn ( http://research.microsoft.com/apps/video/default.aspx?id=104747 )

This should keep you occupied until the Fall. Good luck...

3. MrAlgebra

Hi Steve,

Thanks for the references. I am already familiar with Wolfram Alpha, Mathematica, Maple, and Matlab, but they do not seem to take advantage of the Tablet PC and stylus. Am I missing something?

Also, the link to the Microsoft research project was very interesting. I was able to track down the researcher in the video and it appears that project has been spun out as a product by a company named Fluidity Software (www.fluiditysoftware.com). They have a product called FluidMath. Anyone have any experience with it?

4. Steve S

<<...Am I missing something?..>>