Best Note-Taking Tablet- Medical Student

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by medstudent123, Sep 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. medstudent123

medstudent123 Pen Pal - Newbie

Hi there, I'm a medical student in the market for a really good tablet/slate for note-taking/annotations during lectures. I've been looking around and am having a tough time choosing between the Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 Edition (just released) and a high-range Windows tablet/slate. Can anyone provide me with information about the pros and cons of the best note taking tablets available, especially for a medical student? My requirements are outlines below.

1. What is your budget?
    Price is irrelevant (Any price)

2. Would you consider purchasing used/refurbished?
    No

3. Do you prefer a media/mobile tablet like the iPad, Windows tablet PC, or notebook convertible?
    Either, as long as has tablet functionality and keyboard facility (whether attachable or not)

4. What size Tablet PC would you prefer?
    •7.1 to 10-inches
    •10 to 13-inches (Better)
    • Would prefer closer to 10" mark.

5. Which country do you intent to purchase from [where do you live]?
    UK or South Africa - would consider shipping from US but not always worth import charges.

6. Do you have any preferences to brand loyalty or dislikes?
    Not Apple (own an iPad and has no real use in the lecture hall)

7. How many hours battery life do you require?
    Absolute Minimum of 8/9 hours. The more, the better!

8. What will be the primary usage scenario of this tablet? (Email/Web Surfing/Drawing/Word Processing/Entertainment/Note taking etc)
    Almost exclusively annotating PDFs, and taking notes at High speed. Occasionally inserting photos from board, Drawing diagrams as part of notes. Some web-surfing & general word-processing.