Beloved X230T dying, what next?

Discussion in 'What Tablet PC Should I Buy?' started by chucklepunch, Jan 25, 2019.

1. chucklepunch

chucklepunch Pen Pal - Newbie

Whelp. It's finally time. The Lenovo X230T has been my loyal workhorse since release. Unfortunately, my kid gave it a toss and the screen has started failing intermittently. This laptop has been absolutely perfect for me except for one thing- the 1366x768 resolution is pretty terrible. Otherwise, SSD upgrade and added RAM have kept it running great even through my demanding apps (zbrush, etc)

Generals!

TLDR:
    Does anyone have experience with convertibles/detachables/2-1/allthatjazz from the last 3 or 4 years that they recommend? Ideally, something which has: good pen, 16GB of RAM or upgradeable, decent RGB space screen at least 1920x1080, and isn't tooooo weak on the processing power front.

Budget:
    Preferably under $500.

Background:
    I'm a concept artist, illustrator and designer. I use Photoshop and I use it hard. Files get up in the multiple gigabytes for working doc size- talking 8000x8000x300ppi type stuff. I use Blender, Maya, ZBrush, etc. I don't need ULTIMATE performance, but I am by no means a casual user. I build my own PCs and I customize Windows to the tiniest detail. Upgradeabality is useful for me. You can view my work here if you want to get an example of what I do. I am a painter by trade, but I also do 3D slop modeling, photobashing and whatever else to get the job done. I don't play video games, etc. Portfolio: http://www.artstation.com/sour

Brand loyalty:
    Would like to stick with a Wacom-equivalent pen similar to the fantastic one on my X230T. I don't need 8000 pressure sensitivity and all that, just reliable pen performance. Otherwise, no loyalty.

Size:
    Any.

Used/Refurbished:
    Fine by me!

Battery life:
    Not very important.

Screen:
    1920x1080+ and at least 300nits. Maximum coverage of AdobeRGB also very important.

Needs: