Automatic display rotation with ProtectSmart Accelerometer

Discussion in 'HP TouchSmart TM2 (Wacom)' started by CompuGeek, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. CompuGeek

    CompuGeek Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hey everyone,
    I am somewhat new to this forum but have been lingering for a while. I've been working on a program that accesses the protectsmart 3D accelerometer data and rotates the display accordingly. The program just runs in the background without any UI and barely uses any memory (Task Manager shows the CPU usage at 0% and memory: 6,288 K).

    I am ready for a beta release (might need to make some small adjustments) and thought I'd post the software here.

    The application requires the HP ProtectSmart drivers (ProtectSmart does not need to be enabled) and the .NET Framework 4.0 (with Visual C++ 2010 redistributable). There are two different versions, select depending on the version of Windows you have installed (x86 or x64).

    I will be making a demo video of it in action once my cold has gone away.

    I hope the program works well for everyone, I only have one TM2 to test with.

    Enjoy.


    Readme:
    http://compugeeksoftware.com/software/downloads/tm2_accelerometer/HP_Tm2_Accelerometer_Software.rtf

    x86 Installer:
    http://compugeeksoftware.com/software/downloads/tm2_accelerometer/tm2_accelerometer_(x86).exe

    x64 Installer:
    http://compugeeksoftware.com/software/downloads/tm2_accelerometer/tm2_accelerometer_(x64).exe

    Visual C++ 2010 x64: Download details: Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package (x64)

    Visual C++ 2010 x86: Download details: Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package (x86)

    HP ProtectSmart 4.1.1.1 Driver: http://download.windowsupdate.com/m..._3a5bdb994e42cf7b61e175b59647c51e2dc13b92.cab
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2012
  2. comp666

    comp666 Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Wow pretty amazing, will try when I get home. Did you use C for this?
     
  3. CompuGeek

    CompuGeek Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Sort of, I used Visual C++ for the dll and C# for the background program.
     
  4. teknical

    teknical Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    On reboot:
    "tm2 Accelerometer has stopped working"
    "System.IO.FileNotFoundException"

    Is your app not finding accelerometerdll.DLL?
     
  5. CompuGeek

    CompuGeek Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Did you install the right version for Windows? If you go to system properties (in the start menu, right click computer -> properties), it will show which version of Windows you have (x64 or x86). Make sure you installed the right version of my application.
     
  6. teknical

    teknical Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Yes, I installed the x64 version of your program for my 64-bit Windows 7 pro install.
     
  7. CompuGeek

    CompuGeek Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  8. teknical

    teknical Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    No, it's in C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\...\amd64\
     
  9. CompuGeek

    CompuGeek Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ah, please install the drivers from my previous post. If it is in the driverstore it means the driver is not properly installed.
     
  10. pttuan89

    pttuan89 Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Wow, I cant wait to get home to try this app! :)
     
  11. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,311
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Nice work!
     
  12. Toby

    Toby Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    Working fine here, thank you. However, how fast is normal switching? It takes about the same time as the button press.
     
  13. swidwaks

    swidwaks Scribbler - Standard Member

    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Is this only enabled for slate mode, or will it start switching it up if my leg starts to twitch?

    Either way thanks a bunch for taking the initiative, this is one of the biggest features I've missed in the tm2.
     
  14. wakeupneo

    wakeupneo Scribbler - Standard Member

    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Strange thing here with the x64 version: It quits as soon as it should rotate :S
     
  15. CompuGeek

    CompuGeek Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  16. CompuGeek

    CompuGeek Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Here is an update for x64: http://compugeeksoftware.com/software/downloads/tm2_accelerometer/fix.zip

    Open Task Manager and switch to the processes tab. Then find tm2_accelerometer.exe, select it and click end process.

    Open C:\Program Files\CompuGeek Software\tm2 accelerometer\ in explorer. Replace the existing files with the ones in the zip.

    That should fix the delay and some rotational issues.
     
  17. amademan78

    amademan78 Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Still a no go for me with x64. Installed the x64 version, Protectsmart, Visual C++, & x64 update. It doesn't crash but the screen doesn't rotate when I rotate the tablet in any direction.
     
  18. motionride

    motionride Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    5
    Same here, not working properly, it only rotates into one position regardless of how I am holding it. Maybe it needs a little bit of a calibration tool as I think it could be that the accelerometer gives back different values than on CompuGeeks TM2.

    Just an Idea.
     
  19. wakeupneo

    wakeupneo Scribbler - Standard Member

    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Same here. I have 3D drive guard 4.0.3.1 (the one that came with the notebook). I could only find inf files for the 4.1.1.1.

    SOLVED: Go to device manager and manually update the HP Mobile Data Protection Sensor's driver to this one (4.1.1.1):
    http://download.windowsupdate.com/m..._3a5bdb994e42cf7b61e175b59647c51e2dc13b92.cab

    Thank you CompuGeek, kudos :) With some calibration it will work flawlessly (right now it rotates about 15% of times).

    What do you think about disabling rotation when it's in notebook mode? Right now it rotates the screen upside down :S
    PM me if you need help understanding sensor data (accidental movement, shakiness on a train or in a bus, difference between rotation and fast movement up, left or right, etc etc). I have experience with windows mobile accelerometers.
     
  20. pttuan89

    pttuan89 Pen Pal - Newbie

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    15
    I have the app installed, no error showed up. But it doesnt keep running in background. Looking at the task manager, after double click the exe file in ProgramFiles folder, tm2_accelerometer.exe show up for about 1 second, and dissappeared! I have driver, .net, and Visual C++ installed...
     
Similar Threads: Automatic display
Forum Title Date
HP TouchSmart TM2 (Wacom) Automatic volume change with or without 'phones May 9, 2011
HP TouchSmart TM2 (Wacom) Replace Tm2 Display with a Matte Display Mar 31, 2013
HP TouchSmart TM2 (Wacom) Using Stylus on Extended Display May 22, 2011
HP TouchSmart TM2 (Wacom) How to tighten the display hinge? Dec 30, 2010
HP TouchSmart TM2 (Wacom) Display Driver Issues with the tm2 Dec 23, 2010

Share This Page