Asus R1 in UK September!?!

Discussion in 'Asus' started by kebedom, Jul 27, 2006.

1. kebedom

kebedom Pen Pal - Newbie

Completely new to all this, but I have been looking at tablet PC's for the last month as I need one for university. I was interested in the M7, but feel it may be a bit heavy for everyday use, especially with the extra weight of law books, so when I heard that a dual core 13.1 inch was rumoured to be coming out by Asus, I was very interested. I gave them a call today (UK Office) who told me that it should be released early September with the following specs. I am not technically minded, so not quite sure what I else I need to ask to make sure I am getting a tablet on the same level as the M7.
    13.? Screen
    Centrino Duo Processor
    1.6ghz
    80g Hard Disk
    1g Memory
    Slot in Super Multi Layer Drive
    Wifi
    Weight 1.82kg
    Fingerprint
    Battery around 3 Hours
    Price £1100-£1200
    Let me know what you all think, the guy at Asus was nice and helpful and he didn't mind if I came back to ask more questions.

2. P8RSON

P8RSON Scribbler - Standard Member Senior Member

Ask them if it supports 'Wacom technology'.
    Screens of this type normally don't.

3. kebedom

kebedom Pen Pal - Newbie

Thank u, that is a very good point. Will call them and update later.

4. DRTigerlilly

DRTigerlilly Tablet Lead Mod (Retired) Super Moderator

Find out what Graphics Card comes in the machine. If it is integrated or discrete (has its own on board memory)

5. horsefly81

horsefly81 Pen Pal - Newbie

New Asus R1F info????Well...here is some very untrustworthy information, mostly because my spanish is untrustworthy, but also because asus could change these features as I believe their tablets are in production right now....according to the asus website spanish r1f tablet product manual (and my not so great translating ability), here are some possible features of the upcoming R1f tablet: